Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Great side dish idea - I don't have enough good barley recipes! I added minced garlic during the sautéing step, and finished it with grated Asiago. Also, I waited until after it was cooked to sprinkle on the green onions. Served it alongside roasted salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I can't wait to make this for a pot luck. I made it more economical by using slivered almonds like someone suggested. The almonds were a fraction of the price of pine nuts but gave that great bite. I also used chicken stock and more mushrooms. I baked it for a while uncovered but found it dried up too quickly so I added a bit more stock and finished cooking it covered with foil. This was delicious and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was very good. I rinsed the barley first - sometimes the processing misses stuff. Substituted celery for mushrooms (that is what I had on hand). Easy and delicious. Thank you Katinhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meemer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Pretty good as is though I added herbs d provence, 3 cloves lightly sauteed garlic and subbed EVOO for butter and chicken broth for veggie broth. Good with any meat/game, Even fish though I'd replace broth with fish/clam/shellfish stock/base.Next time will add a serrano chile or at least red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
For some reason, this takes way longer to bake than the directions for me. Maybe it's my oven? Regardless, this is a VERY tasty and healthful recipe. It's a regular dish in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I can't get enough of barley. Was so happy to find this recipe. It's easy and doesn't require much in the way of ingredients. I didnt have the vegetable broth on hand, so I used chicken. No green onions or pine nuts, either. It was absolutely fantastic! Can't wait to try it with all the intended ingredients! Will be making over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
terrific! made it as per recipe except for the green onion. it was amazing! my very picky husband who likes his usual dinners, really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
A nice, filling side dish. I used chicken broth and added extra mushrooms. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very good! My hubby is allergic to barley, so I substituted buckwheat. I also used 4 cups of water plus a heaping 1/4 tsp. of miso for the broth. I used red onion since that's what I had on hand and doubled the mushrooms per other reviews. Simmered on the stove for 25 min and it was done! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
A somewhat temperamental dish, depending on your quality of ingredients, but delicious when done just right. I add chicken when making this for various potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States