Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This recipe was just okay. I followed the directions exactly but found that when we tasted it, it needed a little something more. It was, as some other reviewers have said, a little bland. I highly recommend adding some type of seasoning to it. The leftovers did not get eaten and we will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
No complaints on this one. Tastes creamy and earthy. I omitted the green onions, added 1/2 cup more mushrooms. Used SmartBalance spread instead of butter. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I didn't use: # 2 green onions, thinly sliced (didn't have any) # 1/2 cup sliced fresh mushrooms (don't like) # 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley (I used the Chicken herb mix from HerbTyme) # 2 (14.5 ounce) cans vegetable broth (I used beef broth instead.) Our thoughts - it was good but needed more flavor. Other suggestions are add shredded carrot (probably not my choice) or garlic, cheese, paprika, or cumin (all may be good additions). my fiance didn't care for the almonds (had no added flavor but good for texture) I might use pecans next time. I would also caramelize the onions first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
THis is an easy crowd pleasing recipe, I substituted the pinenuts with crushed walnuts and used chicken boullioun a little dry but great aside from that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This recipe is good. I like how incredibly easy it is to make. I followed the recipe completely and it turned out well. This would make a really good side dish next time, I just ate it as an entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Nice change from traditional side dishes. I wish it were possible for it to bake crispy throughout. The top layer was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby Tarsus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is a great side dish ... enough left over to put in the freezer! I used canned mushrooms instead of fresh and took the advice of another review and didn't add the extra green onions. I used vegetable bouillion so I should have omitted the added salt. I served this with the Sweet and Tangy Glazed Salmon from this site ... yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Really liked this dish. Definitely a keeper. Didn't use butter but a few sprays of Pam to cut the fat. Didn't have Pine nuts so I used sliced almonds instead. Really yummy if you like it nutty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
excellent recipe. you can use olive oil/canola oil instead of butter and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was yummy. I did not want to heat up my oven, so I simmered it on the stove in a skillet for about 1 hour. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States