Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
One of my favorite recipes I have found on the site so far. It's so simple, but soooo good! I try to eat only the single serving size, but it never works out that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FITFreshNY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Hearty and wholesome. Terrific side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I've made this recipe several time. My changes are: I use olive oil instead of butter and I use sliced almonds instead of pine nuts (simply because I didn't have pine nuts available). It's light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The amount of broth needs to be reduced quite a bit. It finished cooking (meaning everything reached the appropriate texture) after an hour 15 minutes, but it was quite soupy at that point and had to continue cooking for over half an hour more. Less broth would rememdy that. I don't know if it would make a difference in the cooking time/amount of broth, but I omitted the (optional) mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
It was good, but a little bland. I put melted cheese on top which made it pretty tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Marcano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I was skeptical about this recipe, but am trying to eat barley more often. It was REALLY good and even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
great recipe, my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great recipe. I used beef broth and a few more mushrooms than the recipe stated. Also, if you are trying to cut the fat/calories, definitely no need to use 1/4 c. of butter. I used 1-2 TB and it was delicious. Served to some family who never had barley before and they loved it and requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This was very good! I didn't have any mushrooms, so used some thinly sliced carrots for color and texture. I will say that after 1-1/2 hours, the barley was still very firm and some liquid left, so I ended up finishing it in the micro for 5 minutes, so apparently it takes more than 1-1/2 hrs. to cook. And my oven runs hot!! On the downside, my husband and son didn't like it much---and my son is a huge fan of brown rice, which is somewhat similar. So it may not be very "family friendly".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States