Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
made it with sesame seeds. it got rave reviews at games night. i doubled the recipe and I think I didn't need to double liquid but even overcooked it was good. and i will make it again! quick and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Great recipe to start with! I made the following changes: no mushrooms (personal preference), added 1 can of drained, rinsed garbanzo beans, added 1 pkg of frozen spinach, doubled the barley and broth amounts. Turned into an excellent main dish, with plenty left over for lunches the next two days for work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
More mushrooms would make this perfect. also, this must be covered while it bakes or the top surface will be very chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
More mushrooms would make this perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made a cross between this and the "Barley Mushroom Riscotto" also on this site. It was good. It was at least 4 stars the way I made it, but since I didn't use mushrooms, and I think I undercooked the barley, I'll give it the benefit of the doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Amazingly good! I left out mushrooms because I don't like them, used sunflower seeds instead of pine nuts, chicken bullion instead of stock because that is what I had on hand. Was cooked perfect after 1 hr, 15 min. Used the lowest tray in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Delicious! I add sliced carrots too. This is one of my husband's favorite dishes. I've passed this recipe onto two others who are also now using it in regular rotation. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by testarossa11
Home Town: High Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I was surprised how much I liked this. Very simple and very good. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was good but maybe I'm just not a fan of barley but I prefer rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This was wonderful. I changed it just a little. I used chicken broth instead of veggie and omitted the parsley ( I didn't have any) . My meat eating husband loved it. It was hearty, filling and really easy. I baked it for exactly 1hr and 15 minutes and the barley was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States