Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Geez Louisiana is this good! The only real changes I made was to use olive oil instead of butter and chicken consomme instead of veggie broth. I scaled it down to two servings which left me with odd measurements (still don't know how much 2/3 of 14.5 oz is...), so I eyeballed proportions. I was worried about the pine nuts toasting too fast in the skillet but it wasn't an issue. A serving for two baked just under an hour. This will be a regular on my table!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was pretty good, but a little bit on the bland side. I sprinkled some parm on at the end to add some flavour. I thought the pine nuts were a nice, unique touch, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was very good- even my kids loved it. I want to play around with it though to try some different flavor combinations. Next time I make it I'm going to add garlic and mushrooms (I was out of them this time around) and maybe sub some white wine for some of the broth. I think the possibilities are endless with this delicious dish. Thank you for the recipe, Kat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I dunno if I did something(s) wrong, but this took a LOT longer to cook to get the liquid absorbed and to get the barley at a palatable texture. Perhaps I didn't use "pearl" barley... Not quite sure. So, I guess my review doesn't really count that much! Oh, well. I'll give this one a shot again because the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Lovely and wonderful. I cut the butter by more than half and used chicken broth instead of veggie broth as it was all I had on hand. Full of flavor. Thank you so much for this great-tasting, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Yum, this was the best barley bake I've made. We really liked the pine nuts. I used olive oil instead of the butter, used dried parsley instead of the fresh, and I omitted the scallions. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent and very versatile! I used walnuts instead of pine, and added some diced carrots, broccoli stems and chickpeas that I had on hand and it was wonderful! My super-picky non-veg husband even loved it! I foresee this becoming a staple in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I've been making something very like this for years without the pine nuts. Usually I add some sliced water chestnuts and a little soy sauce to the chicken or veggie broth. I've also added sliced and quartered zucchini and/or summer squash to it (around 1-1 1/2 cups, I think-ymmv). I've also added some lightly browned cubed chicken breast meat to it or brown chicken breast filets or pork chops and then place them on top of the barley and cover the casserole with foil or a lid before cooking. I'm going to try this tonight with some almonds that I have in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I searched for a recipe using barley after learning of its great health benefits. This recipe was intriguing to me because most others were for soups. I'm embarrassed to be one of *those* reviewers who rates an altered recipe, but I made some changes based on personal preference & suggestions from other reviewers. I replaced half the butter w/ EVOO & used chicken broth instead of vegetable. I also omitted the mushrooms and didn't add any salt. Very simple prep- my 7-yr-old did most of it with my close supervision. The outcome was delicious! At the table we seasoned each serving to taste with more freshly ground pepper & sea salt flakes. I can't stop craving this & I bet I'll make make it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States