Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovestocook25
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I had a white rice recipe which was very similar, using green onions and pine nuts. This is every bit as tasty and way more nutritious so I'll be using it from now on as a side dish instead of rice. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe. I've never used barley in anything other than soup before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I've prepared this dish twice now. I recommend covering the barley bake for the first 45 minutes, stirring, then cooking for another 45 minutes uncovered. The second time I made it, I threw in about a cup of shredded carrots in the last 15 minutes and it made the dish pop with color! The nutty flavor of the barley and the pine nuts is so lovely. Ingenious recipe! I love it, and I plan to use it at Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is my new favorite dish! Absoloutely loved it and will definitely be making this on a weekly basis. It freezes well and is a great vegetarian main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great recipe. Couldn't find pine nuts at the grocery store and didn't have time to chop the mushrooms but was still good without those ingredients. Great comfort food recipe for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I like the fact that this recipe woke me up to the idea of using barley as a delicious side dish. I thought that cooking it on the stove top would have provided just as much flavor and would have used much less energy than the long time it took to bake it. Also, I will start toasting the pine nuts before I put the barley in the pan to toast. Putting them in at the same time as the barley didn't give them enough time to get nicely browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was awesome! I also added 1/2 c. of frozen peas, corn, and 1 c. frozen french cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
We really loved this with a few modifications. Like others suggested, used chicken broth in place of vegetable. I also increased the mushrooms, and added shredded carrots and chopped celery. Next time I will add diced chicken for a 1 pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very good. I would suggest roughly chopping the sliced mushrooms if you already purchased them sliced. My mushrooms were thickly sliced, and I would have enjoyed this more if I had a mushroom in every bite. We are big mushroom fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was very good. I added broccoli and doubled the mushrooms. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States