Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very good! My hubby is allergic to barley, so I substituted buckwheat. I also used 4 cups of water plus a heaping 1/4 tsp. of miso for the broth. I used red onion since that's what I had on hand and doubled the mushrooms per other reviews. Simmered on the stove for 25 min and it was done! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
A somewhat temperamental dish, depending on your quality of ingredients, but delicious when done just right. I add chicken when making this for various potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Good way to use barley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Really good! We haven't really ever had barley, so we weren't sure we'd like it, but apparently we do. I left out the mushrooms since we didn't have any, and used vegetable bullion with water (4 cups of it). As someone else mentioned, the barley browns quickly in the pan, so keep an eye on it. I have an oven safe skillet I use for things like shephard's pie, and I used it for this so I didn't have to transfer to another dish and dirty something else. Worked perfectly. At 1 hour and 15, the liquid wasn't quite all absorbed, so I turned the oven off and put the dish back in for another 1/2 hour, which resulted in the rest of the liquid being absorbed. I think this is great as is and doesn't really need any modifications, although you could certainly add some veggies or meat and get a main dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Bad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very tasty. I doubled the mushrooms, omitted the parsley (didn't have any) but added a large handful of fresh spinach. The pine nuts added a great textural change & nice flavor. Like it a lot and will make it again, might add even more spinach. Thanks for a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Tasty, with a very nice texture. Try a little freshly grated parmigiano on top when you plate it. Also, it might be a little bit salty for those who don't use salt in their cooking or who are sensitive to sodium. I didn't use the 1/4 tsp of salt and didn't miss it. I suggest using one can of low-sodium broth, one can of regular (or both low sodium and then use the 1/4 tsp salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrimisu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was really good, but before I made this I realized that it might be too bland for my taste. I added two cloves of minced garlic and 2 teaspoons of toasted cumin. This definitely added a bit more flavour. Also, I sprinkled my portion with Frank's red hot sauce because it added some much needed heat. Great recipe that you can modify to your personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is a really good side dish but I found it needed more. I added broccoli and corn then sprinkled sharp cheddar cheese on it just before serving. The pine nuts did nothing flavor wise and added a texture that was unpleasant. I used chicken stock and doubled the green onion. The next day I added the leftovers to a bean and vegetable soup I was cooking. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States