Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I liked. Could have used slightly more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Too bland, and the pine nuts didn't add anything special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Fantastic...tryin to eat healthier ...with a resistant husband , he loved it,too! I used half butter half olive oil...added red peppers and chia seeds....served it with grilled chicken and garlic tomatoe green beans....yummy feel good food!( and sooooo easy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is such a versatile recipe. Perfect as is, but the 2nd time, I tossed in a tbsp of garlic and a half of a minced red bell pepper (or one small jar of pimiento's) and it was delish! Also - as a time saver: add the broth directly to skillet after all ingredients are in and bring to a boil for 2 minutes. Then pour that mixture directly into your casserole dish. Bake uncovered for just 45 minutes. Perfect! P.S. - I actually tripled the mushrooms .... but then again, I am a fan of the shroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattiJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was wonderful. Worked perfectly in my rice cooker. I added a touch of garlic powder to enhance flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My daughter had previously tried this and thought it was still "soupy" after religiously following the exact measurements and baking times. She suggested slightly decreasing the liquid. As I decided to decrease the liquid to 1 can of broth (I used chicken), I also decreased the barley to three fourth cups instead of one. After an hour in the oven it was done perfectly. The only other change was to use half butter and half olive oil. Super delicious! Thank you Katinhat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Following other reviews, I used chicken broth,some garlic and thyme,carrot,almonds(didn't know I was out of pine nuts)and fresh parsley. It was very bland and I am curious to figure out how to infuse some more flavor.I can't imagine how bland it would be without adding what I did, maybe I didn't add enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Great side dish idea - I don't have enough good barley recipes! I added minced garlic during the sautéing step, and finished it with grated Asiago. Also, I waited until after it was cooked to sprinkle on the green onions. Served it alongside roasted salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I can't wait to make this for a pot luck. I made it more economical by using slivered almonds like someone suggested. The almonds were a fraction of the price of pine nuts but gave that great bite. I also used chicken stock and more mushrooms. I baked it for a while uncovered but found it dried up too quickly so I added a bit more stock and finished cooking it covered with foil. This was delicious and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was very good. I rinsed the barley first - sometimes the processing misses stuff. Substituted celery for mushrooms (that is what I had on hand). Easy and delicious. Thank you Katinhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meemer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States