Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
this is really really good! i used beef broth instead of the vegetable broth and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Great dish with lots of uses. I added a grated carrot along with the onion, added more scallions and mushrooms and because I was concerned about the reviews that thought it was bland, I added a whole tablespoon of dried basil and used chicken broth. Served it with Chickpeas in Tomato Sauce With Feta and Wine from this site and it was very satisfying--whole family thought it was great! My tomato/mushroom hating son picked out the tomatoes but didn't even realize there were mushrooms in the bake : ). As an added bonus, the leftovers will be a good start for a soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
My husband and I LOVE this recipe!! It's a welcome change from the usual rice pilaf or potato dish. The Barley Bake is healthy, can easily be varied with different veggies if you so choose, and is always a winner! Thanks for a great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Be careful not to overbake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Amazingly good. I omitted the pine nuts due to an allergy in the family, and it was still yummy. I also substituted vinegar for lemon juice. Next time I plan to reduce the amount of butter by half. A nice alternative to rice or pasta side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
try this recipe! Its delicious--and you can cut the butter in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Five stars because my kids all loved it. Very good recipe as written, but I can see how one might want to add some other vegies and spices. I made it as written and enjoyed it very much with grilled chicken. I love pine nuts and always have a bag in the freezer. This is a much better side dish as far as nutrition and fiber go. Try it...you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
very very good, made this when a vegetarian friend came over for dinner...went very well. It did need additional bake time to absorb all the liquid. 1 hr 45 min seemed to be about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I left out the butter completely and used cooking spray. I was out of mushrooms so I added shredded carrots and celery. I also added garlic and used white onions. Quite good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Nice way to incorporate more healthy grains into the diet. I used portabella mushrooms and chicken broth instead of veggie broth. Good with a green salad. Also backed off the butter by about 1/2 in the interest of health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States