Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Nice change from traditional side dishes. I wish it were possible for it to bake crispy throughout. The top layer was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby Tarsus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is a great side dish ... enough left over to put in the freezer! I used canned mushrooms instead of fresh and took the advice of another review and didn't add the extra green onions. I used vegetable bouillion so I should have omitted the added salt. I served this with the Sweet and Tangy Glazed Salmon from this site ... yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Really liked this dish. Definitely a keeper. Didn't use butter but a few sprays of Pam to cut the fat. Didn't have Pine nuts so I used sliced almonds instead. Really yummy if you like it nutty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
excellent recipe. you can use olive oil/canola oil instead of butter and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was yummy. I did not want to heat up my oven, so I simmered it on the stove in a skillet for about 1 hour. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was the blandest thing I have ever made. Somehow my husband and I rescued it with lime and cumin after first trying it. For the amount of time it took and the outcome I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I found this to be not only simple, but very delicious! i used almonds instead of pine nuts and chicken stock instead of veggie. it has such a nuty, hearthy flavor and awesome texture. i will definately be making ths again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Made exactly as written and came out perfect. Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Thanks for the delicious recipe. I wasn't sure what to expect having never cooked barley before. I love this site for the reviews of the recipes. Because I read the reviews first I made this recipe adding 1 shredded carrot, 2 cloves of chopped garlic and 1 tsp of thyme. It is so delicious that I know I will definitely be making this again and sharing the recipe with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
An excellent side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States