Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
If you like pinenuts this would be great. But for our family, the pinenuts were too much. It also lacked enough mushroom. The recipe had good texture and flavor otherwise. We did cover the dish when we baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
For non-vegetarians, I made this into a one pot meal...simply by switching out the vegetable broth to chicken broth, and throwing in some boneless, skinless chicken thighs before I put it in the oven. Tasted even better on the reheat! (I also added a clove of chopped garlic) There was a little liquid after 1 1/4 baking, but the barley soaked it up after letting it cool. I gave this a 4 star, because while it's a good, solid comfort food type dish, it's not exactly exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very good vegetarian dish. Sometimes I find it needs a bit more water than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
One of my favorite recipes I have found on the site so far. It's so simple, but soooo good! I try to eat only the single serving size, but it never works out that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FITFreshNY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Hearty and wholesome. Terrific side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I've made this recipe several time. My changes are: I use olive oil instead of butter and I use sliced almonds instead of pine nuts (simply because I didn't have pine nuts available). It's light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The amount of broth needs to be reduced quite a bit. It finished cooking (meaning everything reached the appropriate texture) after an hour 15 minutes, but it was quite soupy at that point and had to continue cooking for over half an hour more. Less broth would rememdy that. I don't know if it would make a difference in the cooking time/amount of broth, but I omitted the (optional) mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
It was good, but a little bland. I put melted cheese on top which made it pretty tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Marcano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I was skeptical about this recipe, but am trying to eat barley more often. It was REALLY good and even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
great recipe, my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States