Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Amazingly good! I left out mushrooms because I don't like them, used sunflower seeds instead of pine nuts, chicken bullion instead of stock because that is what I had on hand. Was cooked perfect after 1 hr, 15 min. Used the lowest tray in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Delicious! I add sliced carrots too. This is one of my husband's favorite dishes. I've passed this recipe onto two others who are also now using it in regular rotation. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by testarossa11
Home Town: High Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I was surprised how much I liked this. Very simple and very good. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was good but maybe I'm just not a fan of barley but I prefer rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This was wonderful. I changed it just a little. I used chicken broth instead of veggie and omitted the parsley ( I didn't have any) . My meat eating husband loved it. It was hearty, filling and really easy. I baked it for exactly 1hr and 15 minutes and the barley was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
If you like pinenuts this would be great. But for our family, the pinenuts were too much. It also lacked enough mushroom. The recipe had good texture and flavor otherwise. We did cover the dish when we baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
For non-vegetarians, I made this into a one pot meal...simply by switching out the vegetable broth to chicken broth, and throwing in some boneless, skinless chicken thighs before I put it in the oven. Tasted even better on the reheat! (I also added a clove of chopped garlic) There was a little liquid after 1 1/4 baking, but the barley soaked it up after letting it cool. I gave this a 4 star, because while it's a good, solid comfort food type dish, it's not exactly exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very good vegetarian dish. Sometimes I find it needs a bit more water than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
One of my favorite recipes I have found on the site so far. It's so simple, but soooo good! I try to eat only the single serving size, but it never works out that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FITFreshNY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Hearty and wholesome. Terrific side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States