Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This recipe is basically fail proof. I didn't have as much pine nuts on hand as the recipe asked for but it still was very good. I would definitely use more pine nuts next time and I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
This was a very simple, hearty, and delicious recipe. I sauted the vegetables in olive oil rather than butter, and I added chickpeas for some more protein/fiber. I did have to keep this in the oven longer than 75 minutes, so next time I will increase the oven temp. This was my first time cooking with barley, and I'm happy to report that it won't be my last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Delicious! My kids and my overgrown kid(husband) love it! I will definitally make this recipe again! It is great! And so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Scrumptious! Very easy to prepare. I used chopped almonds in place of pine nuts. I will definitely be using this recipe again in place of potatoes and pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Great recipe! Healthy & easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Different and delicious. I didn't have pinenuts so I used pecans and it was great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Awesome dish! You could cut down the amount of butter quite a bit, and I'm sure it would still be incredibly delicious. The pine nuts already add a lot of oil. You can refrigerate forever, and it never loses any of it's goodness. Add soy sauce if you like to add salt. It makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I used Minor's beef broth and pecans and almonds. I also cooked it in my rice cooker with great results. The leftovers were mixed with brown rice, chorizo, red peppers, tomatoes, cilantro, black beans, etc for a hispanic twist providing a high fiber, complex carb meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I didn't use any nuts but the end result was great. The baby even ate it. Great way to get the fiber in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This dish is full of flavor! It is a good side dish to make for Thanksgiving- much better than some stuffings I've had. Will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States