Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very good and very easy to make. I stuck closely to the recipe, though I added a few sunflower seeds in addition to the pine nuts, per another reviewer's suggestion. I also added a little bit of dried garlic, and more mushrooms than called for. I ate this as an entree just because I was trying it out, but I think it would really be a perfect side dish for the holidays, or for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
So good! I used olive oil instead of butter but the first time it was far to greasy. Second try I cut the fat by just more than half and it was much better. Would be even better with roasted cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is a really hearty dish! I did make a couple of changes but I don't think they are significant enough to be called major. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil, and since I didn't have any vegetable broth I used chicken. Added a pinch of oregano and lastly I toasted the pine nuts for a few minutes to bring out their flavor. Served it with a roasted chicken and it was awesome! 6/14/10 - Update: Made this again and added a small bit of chopped celery and carrots. It added a subtle flavor change and the carrots made it look pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I really liked the simplicity of this recipe. I did add 3 cloves of garlic, and I really loved it that way. Just my preference. The pine nuts are really good in this recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
A delicious pilaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This is healthy and filling but a bit bland. I made it for my work lunches this week and found it to be a bit dull. I did add some chopped carrot and minced garlic to pep it up but it still seems to need something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Geez Louisiana is this good! The only real changes I made was to use olive oil instead of butter and chicken consomme instead of veggie broth. I scaled it down to two servings which left me with odd measurements (still don't know how much 2/3 of 14.5 oz is...), so I eyeballed proportions. I was worried about the pine nuts toasting too fast in the skillet but it wasn't an issue. A serving for two baked just under an hour. This will be a regular on my table!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was pretty good, but a little bit on the bland side. I sprinkled some parm on at the end to add some flavour. I thought the pine nuts were a nice, unique touch, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was very good- even my kids loved it. I want to play around with it though to try some different flavor combinations. Next time I make it I'm going to add garlic and mushrooms (I was out of them this time around) and maybe sub some white wine for some of the broth. I think the possibilities are endless with this delicious dish. Thank you for the recipe, Kat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I dunno if I did something(s) wrong, but this took a LOT longer to cook to get the liquid absorbed and to get the barley at a palatable texture. Perhaps I didn't use "pearl" barley... Not quite sure. So, I guess my review doesn't really count that much! Oh, well. I'll give this one a shot again because the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States