Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I was worried about the texture of this dish being too uniform, I was so happy to be wrong! The pine nuts got a bit toasted and it tasted amazing! I added more mushrooms and had to bake it for longer to soak up all the liquid. I would bake it hotter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was amazing! My husband was very skeptical, but after trying it he just loved it. He said he wouldn't mind eating it multiple times a week! To me the mushrooms really made the dish. I used baby bellas and they gave the dish a fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe, great as a side dish or eaten alone. The flavor is great and the texture is kept interesting with the pine nuts. The only modification I made was using chicken broth rather than veggie. I also had to leave it in the oven for an hour and 45 minutes before the liquid was absorbed. Next time, I'll either raise the heat a little, or just plan for the extra time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
OMG this was delicious!!! I like to mix it up add random veggies I have in my fridge (or are craving) and every time I make this it is FABULOUS. Thanks so much for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Simple and delicious. My version included ground beef and beef broth for an extra rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very good and very easy to make. I stuck closely to the recipe, though I added a few sunflower seeds in addition to the pine nuts, per another reviewer's suggestion. I also added a little bit of dried garlic, and more mushrooms than called for. I ate this as an entree just because I was trying it out, but I think it would really be a perfect side dish for the holidays, or for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
So good! I used olive oil instead of butter but the first time it was far to greasy. Second try I cut the fat by just more than half and it was much better. Would be even better with roasted cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is a really hearty dish! I did make a couple of changes but I don't think they are significant enough to be called major. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil, and since I didn't have any vegetable broth I used chicken. Added a pinch of oregano and lastly I toasted the pine nuts for a few minutes to bring out their flavor. Served it with a roasted chicken and it was awesome! 6/14/10 - Update: Made this again and added a small bit of chopped celery and carrots. It added a subtle flavor change and the carrots made it look pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I really liked the simplicity of this recipe. I did add 3 cloves of garlic, and I really loved it that way. Just my preference. The pine nuts are really good in this recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
A delicious pilaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States