Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was awesome! I also added 1/2 c. of frozen peas, corn, and 1 c. frozen french cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
We really loved this with a few modifications. Like others suggested, used chicken broth in place of vegetable. I also increased the mushrooms, and added shredded carrots and chopped celery. Next time I will add diced chicken for a 1 pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very good. I would suggest roughly chopping the sliced mushrooms if you already purchased them sliced. My mushrooms were thickly sliced, and I would have enjoyed this more if I had a mushroom in every bite. We are big mushroom fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was very good. I added broccoli and doubled the mushrooms. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made this last night with minor modifications, I sauteed celery, carrots, garlic along with the mushrooms & replaced pecans with pine nuts. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock. Although I really enjoy barley, I found that it overpowered the rest of the ingredients and its the only flavour that came through. Although very nutritious, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I use beef broth, chili powder to taste, add leftover roast beef, cubed green peppers, carrots, mushrooms, almonds and, during the last ten minutes; cherry tomatoes. Sometimes melt cheese on top and serve with french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Overall, I really enjoyed this recipe but I did make a number of changes. I had a little more than 1 cup of barley (maybe 1/4 cup?) so I threw it all in. I tripled the mushrooms to make it a meatier dish, and I used 1-32oz carton of chicken broth to accomodate for the extra barley. Apparently it was a bit too much extra! The added mushrooms probably didn't help the liquid situation either. The flavor was great albeit a bit simple. I love the pine nuts - a great contrast to the chewiness of the barley. I sprinkled the dish with a little more green onion tops when serving. And I omitted the parsley all together because frankly, I don't like parsley! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I saw this recipe today and thought I'd give it a try once I got home for something new! I changed the recipe alittle bit since I didn't have any pine nuts or mushrooms. Instead I used one zuchinni and one orange bell pepper. As well I used the chicken broth - 1 cup and 1 cup of tomato juice. This turned out amazing and so tasty!! We ate the whole cassarole dish! Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLarkin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I was worried about the texture of this dish being too uniform, I was so happy to be wrong! The pine nuts got a bit toasted and it tasted amazing! I added more mushrooms and had to bake it for longer to soak up all the liquid. I would bake it hotter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was amazing! My husband was very skeptical, but after trying it he just loved it. He said he wouldn't mind eating it multiple times a week! To me the mushrooms really made the dish. I used baby bellas and they gave the dish a fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States