Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
We really loved this with a few modifications. Like others suggested, used chicken broth in place of vegetable. I also increased the mushrooms, and added shredded carrots and chopped celery. Next time I will add diced chicken for a 1 pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very good. I would suggest roughly chopping the sliced mushrooms if you already purchased them sliced. My mushrooms were thickly sliced, and I would have enjoyed this more if I had a mushroom in every bite. We are big mushroom fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was very good. I added broccoli and doubled the mushrooms. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made this last night with minor modifications, I sauteed celery, carrots, garlic along with the mushrooms & replaced pecans with pine nuts. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock. Although I really enjoy barley, I found that it overpowered the rest of the ingredients and its the only flavour that came through. Although very nutritious, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I use beef broth, chili powder to taste, add leftover roast beef, cubed green peppers, carrots, mushrooms, almonds and, during the last ten minutes; cherry tomatoes. Sometimes melt cheese on top and serve with french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Overall, I really enjoyed this recipe but I did make a number of changes. I had a little more than 1 cup of barley (maybe 1/4 cup?) so I threw it all in. I tripled the mushrooms to make it a meatier dish, and I used 1-32oz carton of chicken broth to accomodate for the extra barley. Apparently it was a bit too much extra! The added mushrooms probably didn't help the liquid situation either. The flavor was great albeit a bit simple. I love the pine nuts - a great contrast to the chewiness of the barley. I sprinkled the dish with a little more green onion tops when serving. And I omitted the parsley all together because frankly, I don't like parsley! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I saw this recipe today and thought I'd give it a try once I got home for something new! I changed the recipe alittle bit since I didn't have any pine nuts or mushrooms. Instead I used one zuchinni and one orange bell pepper. As well I used the chicken broth - 1 cup and 1 cup of tomato juice. This turned out amazing and so tasty!! We ate the whole cassarole dish! Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLarkin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I was worried about the texture of this dish being too uniform, I was so happy to be wrong! The pine nuts got a bit toasted and it tasted amazing! I added more mushrooms and had to bake it for longer to soak up all the liquid. I would bake it hotter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was amazing! My husband was very skeptical, but after trying it he just loved it. He said he wouldn't mind eating it multiple times a week! To me the mushrooms really made the dish. I used baby bellas and they gave the dish a fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe, great as a side dish or eaten alone. The flavor is great and the texture is kept interesting with the pine nuts. The only modification I made was using chicken broth rather than veggie. I also had to leave it in the oven for an hour and 45 minutes before the liquid was absorbed. Next time, I'll either raise the heat a little, or just plan for the extra time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States