Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is a really good side dish but I found it needed more. I added broccoli and corn then sprinkled sharp cheddar cheese on it just before serving. The pine nuts did nothing flavor wise and added a texture that was unpleasant. I used chicken stock and doubled the green onion. The next day I added the leftovers to a bean and vegetable soup I was cooking. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Sooo good!!!! I have never cooked barley before, and it was so easy and deliscious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. I was on allrecipes, looking for a way to add barley into my diet and this one looked promising. It's really tasty and, when i reheat it for lunch the next day, I throw in a steamer (those bags of mixed veggies you can buy), and it's really colorful and even healthier than it started out! I do use chicken broth instead of veggie broth, but that's because it's what i keep on hand. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIEMAY84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I ended up using mushroom broth which added to the whole dish a lot, I think. It took a long while to soak up the liquid and I didn't get it all entirely. I will probably add a little less next time. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Not for me. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This was excellent. The only reason I rated it with 4 stars is because it is not a pretty dish but it is a tasty dish. Next time, I will try adding more green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Delicious! I was planning to make barley soup and found this. I love it. Made some alternations: Used half the butter, omitted the green onions, instead, I satay chopped leeks and diced red pepper for colour. After baking, I broiled the top for a couple minutes and it turned out great! Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe. This one is a keeper will be a house staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was amazingly good. Even my husband (who will eat nothing odd and never heard of barley or pine nuts) had a large helping and said "not bad". I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Yum! I didn't have pine nuts or green onions but I did add some fresh kale while frying the onions and barley. Extra healthy and very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Yummy!.. we are trying to eat healthier and I didn't feel guilty at all having seconds of this dish!.. I kept this on the stove top until done... Simmered about 50 minutes; subbed some chopped almonds for the pine nuts. chicken broth for the veg.. broth and added some slivered carrot. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States