Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was very good. I rinsed the barley first - sometimes the processing misses stuff. Substituted celery for mushrooms (that is what I had on hand). Easy and delicious. Thank you Katinhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meemer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Pretty good as is though I added herbs d provence, 3 cloves lightly sauteed garlic and subbed EVOO for butter and chicken broth for veggie broth. Good with any meat/game, Even fish though I'd replace broth with fish/clam/shellfish stock/base.Next time will add a serrano chile or at least red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
For some reason, this takes way longer to bake than the directions for me. Maybe it's my oven? Regardless, this is a VERY tasty and healthful recipe. It's a regular dish in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I can't get enough of barley. Was so happy to find this recipe. It's easy and doesn't require much in the way of ingredients. I didnt have the vegetable broth on hand, so I used chicken. No green onions or pine nuts, either. It was absolutely fantastic! Can't wait to try it with all the intended ingredients! Will be making over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
terrific! made it as per recipe except for the green onion. it was amazing! my very picky husband who likes his usual dinners, really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
A nice, filling side dish. I used chicken broth and added extra mushrooms. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very good! My hubby is allergic to barley, so I substituted buckwheat. I also used 4 cups of water plus a heaping 1/4 tsp. of miso for the broth. I used red onion since that's what I had on hand and doubled the mushrooms per other reviews. Simmered on the stove for 25 min and it was done! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
A somewhat temperamental dish, depending on your quality of ingredients, but delicious when done just right. I add chicken when making this for various potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Good way to use barley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Really good! We haven't really ever had barley, so we weren't sure we'd like it, but apparently we do. I left out the mushrooms since we didn't have any, and used vegetable bullion with water (4 cups of it). As someone else mentioned, the barley browns quickly in the pan, so keep an eye on it. I have an oven safe skillet I use for things like shephard's pie, and I used it for this so I didn't have to transfer to another dish and dirty something else. Worked perfectly. At 1 hour and 15, the liquid wasn't quite all absorbed, so I turned the oven off and put the dish back in for another 1/2 hour, which resulted in the rest of the liquid being absorbed. I think this is great as is and doesn't really need any modifications, although you could certainly add some veggies or meat and get a main dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States