Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
V. easy & good. Added 1/4 cup of wild rice to 3/4 of barley to make a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Good flavor but took much longer than 75 minutes to cook--closer to 3 hours, which seems excessive for a simple side dish. Next time I will cover it for the first half. Will try with almonds next time, as my kids didn't care for the pine nuts. I also added some truffle salt and garlic salt. Thinking a splash of marsala wine would be good too. --Susan C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I've had better barley recipes on this site. Just not as flavorful. I imagine it's healthy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Amazing! Made this a few times. Love the pine nuts in it. I prefer to add more mushrooms and use low sodium broth. I use less broth than it says because it doesn't always absorb enough in the 1hr 15 min. Regardless, it comes out great every time - you may just have to drain the excess broth before serving. Stays well in fridge for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I used leftover cooked barley and it turned out great. Kind of like barley risotto with mushrooms. I added a little bit of water and didn't bake it since my barley was already cooked. Pine nuts were so good in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is really good. I used only a dab of olive oil instead of the butter. I used leeks instead of onion and put in 1/4 cup chopped zucchini and a handful of chopped spinach, too. It has visual appeal, smells enticing and really is quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Loved this dish! So good I could eat alone, but we paired with grilled salmon for dinner. Amazing recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
The picture of this one describes it very well. Boring. I added celery, carrot, and kale, just to add some additional color, but the flavor had no depth. It was flavorful, but the kind of flavor you might find at HomeTown Buffet. It cooked up nicely in the rice cooker and I liked the texture of the barley and the mushroom flavor, but it needs something more - not sure what. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
As a widower living at the bottom of S.F. Bay, I'm happy to see such enthusiasm for Barley Bake & esp. variations using a rice-cooker - I use my Zojirushi pressure-cooker. I grew up on beef-barley soup (my Scottish dad was Glaswegian), but am a near-vegetarian @ 71, having learned to substitute beets for beef (at Weight-Watchers/Providence in 1972.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Just OK, not bad but not incredible. Pine nuts didn't really seem to add much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States