Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Yum, this was the best barley bake I've made. We really liked the pine nuts. I used olive oil instead of the butter, used dried parsley instead of the fresh, and I omitted the scallions. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent and very versatile! I used walnuts instead of pine, and added some diced carrots, broccoli stems and chickpeas that I had on hand and it was wonderful! My super-picky non-veg husband even loved it! I foresee this becoming a staple in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I've been making something very like this for years without the pine nuts. Usually I add some sliced water chestnuts and a little soy sauce to the chicken or veggie broth. I've also added sliced and quartered zucchini and/or summer squash to it (around 1-1 1/2 cups, I think-ymmv). I've also added some lightly browned cubed chicken breast meat to it or brown chicken breast filets or pork chops and then place them on top of the barley and cover the casserole with foil or a lid before cooking. I'm going to try this tonight with some almonds that I have in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I searched for a recipe using barley after learning of its great health benefits. This recipe was intriguing to me because most others were for soups. I'm embarrassed to be one of *those* reviewers who rates an altered recipe, but I made some changes based on personal preference & suggestions from other reviewers. I replaced half the butter w/ EVOO & used chicken broth instead of vegetable. I also omitted the mushrooms and didn't add any salt. Very simple prep- my 7-yr-old did most of it with my close supervision. The outcome was delicious! At the table we seasoned each serving to taste with more freshly ground pepper & sea salt flakes. I can't stop craving this & I bet I'll make make it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This dish was decent fresh, but terrible as leftovers. Everything ends up tasting the same, and it is a bland flavor. The texture of the barley becomes unappealing. I would recommend this only if you really want to make a big barley dish, and if you have enough people to feed it to that it'll be gone in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
made it with sesame seeds. it got rave reviews at games night. i doubled the recipe and I think I didn't need to double liquid but even overcooked it was good. and i will make it again! quick and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Great recipe to start with! I made the following changes: no mushrooms (personal preference), added 1 can of drained, rinsed garbanzo beans, added 1 pkg of frozen spinach, doubled the barley and broth amounts. Turned into an excellent main dish, with plenty left over for lunches the next two days for work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
More mushrooms would make this perfect. also, this must be covered while it bakes or the top surface will be very chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
More mushrooms would make this perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States