Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This side dish was good, but not one I will be making again. My DH thought it tasted like something that came out of a box. I subbed green pepper for the mushrooms, as we are not fans of them. We liked all the ingredients in this, but I think it was the pine nuts that threw him off. I served this with marinated flank steak and 'Special Deviled Eggs' from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Easy and tasty. I had no pine nuts so substituted with sliced almonds. Also added some diced celery and garlic, some Italian herb mix, cherry tomatoes, and chopped spinach (this one only added in last 10 min of baking). Topped off with some shredded parmesan/cheddar mix for the last 10 min of bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Added truffle oil and rosemary - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I use allrecipes exclusively, but rarely review recipes unless I have something to add to the discussion. This was wonderful, I'd give it more stars if I could. I've added barley to my diet as it's supposed to help lower cholesterol. This will be a regular at our house! Also, I found a very easy way to prepare it: a small crockpot. I used what I had on hand; which was hulled barley (it's more nutritional), sliced almonds (no pine nuts) and left out the mushrooms (didn't have any). I followed other suggestions and used about 3 Tbs olive oil for browning. Than into the crockpot and in about 3 hours it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is one of my very favorite recipes. I was only able to give it 4 stars as I did modify it slightly. I use chicken broth instead of veggie broth, added a clove of garlic, 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper and 3/4 tsp cayenne pepper. I, like many others, cut the butter down slightly (about 1/6 cup). It is however pretty vital to the overall taste of the dish. The 'soupiness' once the dish is cooked that some have complained about, will be mostly absorbed in 5 minutes from removing it from the oven. The remaining moisture assists in reheating it for the next day so this has not been a problem for me. I will reiterate what another reviewer stated, 'never use quick barley in this dish'. Made that mistake once; it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
V. easy & good. Added 1/4 cup of wild rice to 3/4 of barley to make a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Good flavor but took much longer than 75 minutes to cook--closer to 3 hours, which seems excessive for a simple side dish. Next time I will cover it for the first half. Will try with almonds next time, as my kids didn't care for the pine nuts. I also added some truffle salt and garlic salt. Thinking a splash of marsala wine would be good too. --Susan C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I've had better barley recipes on this site. Just not as flavorful. I imagine it's healthy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Amazing! Made this a few times. Love the pine nuts in it. I prefer to add more mushrooms and use low sodium broth. I use less broth than it says because it doesn't always absorb enough in the 1hr 15 min. Regardless, it comes out great every time - you may just have to drain the excess broth before serving. Stays well in fridge for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States