Barbye's Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I have been looking for a simple recipe that still tasted like my mother's. I adapted tyhis recipe by adding cream of celery and cream of chicken. I also dropped the wine and mushrooms. I added two cans of chicken broth, which made it moist. It was delicious! My family could not stop raving over it. They were impressed that it tasted better than my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
Yummy! I did a test batch this summer. The kids loved it! It has a rich flavor that is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This was the first time I made Thanksgiving dinner for my in-laws, and I used this recipe. We all loved it! It was easy for me to prepare. I adjusted the seasonings to their taste and it was a HUGE hit! I got 2 requests for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving last year. It was really delicious; everyone loved it. Excellent recipe! Elizabeth L.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving. No one in my family liked it. I ended up throwing it away. Even though we love white wine the flavor was too overpowering in this recipe. Maybe it would be better with 1/2 cup wine and more chicken broth?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I made this stuffing recipe last year with an apricot-glazed turkey recipe also found here. It was a big hit with my family and my husband's family. I loved it and will make it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I made this stuffing for my 1st holiday dinner, no need to tell you it was a hit! This has quickly become my families favorite for all dinners to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This is the best! I omit the egg and add a little more wine and broth until it is moist. It's a hit with the whole family, including the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I added a little garlic and 1LB of spicy cooked sausage, and enough chicken broth to make it moist. Use a white wine that you like to drink, because you will taste it in the Dressing. My Family and friends love this recipe and I have passed it on several times. Thanks for making our Thanksgiving (or anytime we have chicken)special!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
The cornbread gives this recipe an interesting crunch and sweetness. Very easy & inexpensive to make. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States