Barb's Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These were delicious! They were smooth, and tasted wonderful! I added a few more chocolate chips, though, and it was a lot better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was a fun an easy recipe. I used it to make mini muffins, baking for 18 minutes. I read the other reviews and did make some changes: 1. Used whole wheat flour 2. Substituted water for 1/4 cup of oil and 1 cup of unsweetened apple sauce 3. Halved the sugar to 1 1/2 cups 4. Halved the salt to 1/2 teaspoon 5. Added 1 teaspoon cinnamon 6. Used a 15oz can of pumpkin puree Delicious! The eggs really make the muffins light and fluffy. Thank you Barb for a yummy pumpkin muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Just made this recipe and it turned out awesome. I made mini muffins instead, baking for only 15 minutes, and mini choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
These were so delicious ! I didn't put chocolate chips in them but still very good. I also put pumpkin spice and cinnamon in and at the top which made it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
5 stars despite my own mistake! Lol I was flustered today on account of someone misplacing my baking powder. So I decided to make these instead. I was in a rush, and bad mood so I didn't read it clearly. I added 2 CANS (15oz each) Pumpkin puree. I couldn't figure out why I had enough batter for 36 Muffins lol They turned out amazing still, just a little denser and super moist. They stick to the paper a bit too, but its not a deal breaker, they still taste amazing. I consider these more of a cupcake, so I topped half with whipped cream, and the other half with chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I added some walnuts and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
WARNING: 30 mn at 400 is way too long if you are baking in standard muffin tins. Start with 18 or 20 and add if you need to. Not the greatest pumpkin muffin ever, but perfectly workable. I used this recipe because the first one I came across had 1.5 C of oil, which seemed extreme. I added 1 t of cinnamon and 1/2 of cloves, just 'cause I can't imagine pumpkin bread without those two spices. Also, I was using fresh pumpkin so I omitted the water. I intend to freeze them: hopefully they won't be too dry when I thaw and use next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I cut this recipe in half BUT I cut the sugar in half again to 3/4 cup for 12 muffins or a half recipe. I only used 1 1/2 cups flour because for 12 muffins, that's usually what I use and I was afraid the muffins would come out dry if I added more flour. Baking these at 350*, my muffins were done at just about 20 minutes. Thirty minutes and I would have had overdone muffins. These turned out okay but they didn't have much flavor. I think if I were to make these again, I'd increase the spices (like maybe use pumpkin pie spice) and I'd use some kind of fat (melted butter or vegetable oil) or even some cold brewed chai instead of plain water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I haven't made these in years and every fall I get a request for the recipe. Such a perfectly festive way to enjoy the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made a half batch of these, and used canned pureed sweet potatoes instead of the pumpkin. Major issue with this recipe: the cooking time. I see some complaints about dark, dry muffins in the reviews. No standard sized muffin should be cooked for half an hour. I baked 20 minutes, perfect. My kids are loving the sweet potato + chocolate chip combo. Great way to dose them with vitamins A & C!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States