Barb's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
WOW! Okay, I had no buttermilk so I used sour cream -- I also had no chocolate chips so I just omitted that step. Besides this, I followed the recipe exactly and I topped the cake with German Cake Frosting...it was so good. FAMILY LOVES IT!! I will never buy another cake mix THANKS BARB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
This cake has a very nice texture. The frosting was particularly delicious. Creamy and a lovely light cocoa shade. Great for anyone who enjoys intense chocolate flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Probably one of the most delicious chocolate cakes I've ever tasted. We had to cook it longer than 25 min. though, but it turned out beautifully for my son's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I was disappointed in this recipe. I found the cake had a spongy consistancy. I followed the recipe but something went wrong somewhere. I liked our store bought cakes better but will try again another time to see if it turns out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Gorgeous....i used sour cream instead of buttermilk and poured it all into an 8 x 10 pan and baked for nearly 40 mins.....still turned out YUMMY. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
I made this cake for my brothers birthday. It took me ages to make it as I am a first timer. I makde it with great care. The cake looked very good but after eating it i could taste baking soda! I think i put too much in it! I am living in Australia and now on hind sight I think I should have used "Self-Raising flour" which already has the right amount of rising agents within it. I will be more aware of this in the future. I also made the cake without any eggs..just added some extra butter and milk. That was fine. I will have to try it again. But I believe it would turn out great if it wasnt for too much baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This cake is wonderful!! I made it for my husband's birthday today and he has already requested it again! The only change I made was instead of 1 c of oil, I used 1/2 c of oil and 1/2 c of applesauce as a substitute. It turned out VERY moist!! This recipe is definitely going in my recipe box! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
very good...will replace my old homemade chocolate cake recipe. It reminds me of "darn good chocolate cake" if you've ever had that (I think it's called chocolate cavity maker cake or something like that on this site). I did not use her frosting, but the "cool whipped frosting" recipe on this site...doubled that recipe. I refridgerated the cake before serving because of the frosting and thought that the two together were a very good combo...chocolately, with a nice texture, and the chocolate chips are a nice surprise. The frosting kept things from getting too overwhelming, it was creamy and light (I don't care for the more traditional sugary sweet confection sugar based frostings) I would definitely make this again with the frosting I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I substituted sour cream for the buttermilk and it worked very well. I also made the chocolate frosting for the filling and thought it was excellent. I made the same frosting recipe but omitted the ccocoa and added an additional teaspon of vanilla (clear) and sour cream for a white frosting for the outside. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This cake is fantastic! I do recomend making more frosting than called for, as there is not really enough to cover the cake. It is moist, and oh so chocolatey!!!!! My family loves it. This is the only chocolate cake recipe I will use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States