Barb's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Absolutely delicious chocolate cake. Really moist and chocolatey. It was also really easy to make (actually my 4 year old made it, I just handed him the ingredients). I might put a layer of whipped cream in between the layers next time as my husband found it a bit rich but for a chocoholic like me it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
First time baking a cake, and I thought this was pretty good. However, for people who dislike a too chocalately taste, you might prefer to use another frosting. I should have added abit more baking powder/soda though. The cake didnt rise much (and thus was quite dense)in my case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
yeaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Deerfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This cake had a very unique taste, I loved the frosting. I wasn't so sure about the semi-sweet chocolate chips.. but it turned out they made for a brilliant (and delicious) surprise when you bite in. The first time I made the cake I think I made a mistake though, it fell apart easily when cut into.. but the second time I made it exactly to the recipe only I added a bit more sugar, it held together nicely and I will make this cake again. Thank you Barb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This cake was absolutely delicious, i made it for my mum on her birthday, shes the best cook in the world and she was delighted with the cake. Although the cake was delicious i put to much coffee in the icing, however it still tasted yummylicious! i give this cake 7 of 10 (and that is still very good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This cake was the best. It was so moist and the taste was just right. As an added touch I put chocolate fudge pudding in between the two layers. It made the cake even more decadent and moist. This recipe should be in everyone's recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
My first attempt at this cake was a disaster - the layers domed quite a bit and I couldn't level them without losing all the chocolate chips. I remade the cake, putting in enough batter to cover the bottom of the pans, then adding the chocolate chips in the middle and covering with the remaining batter. I would have been better off using 3 pans as the layers domed again (less this time) so I still had to cut off the tops to level them. In the end, I was disappointed in the cake as it didn't taste chocolatey at all to me. The frosting was wonderful though, very chocolatey and the coffee gives it an added kick. I made a batch and a half as suggested by other reviewers. I probably won't make the cake again but the frosting will definitely stay in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This tastes just like the cake from the local fine bakery. It is chocolately without being overly sweet and it is moist and rich with a refined flavour. I'd highly recommend it. My very reserved 80 year old mother in law, who never comments on any of my food, complimented me on this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This recipe is THE definitive chocolate birthday cake recipe in our house. It's really moist and the chocolate chips are a nice surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I thought this cake was not chocolatey or sweet enough. It was also dry and crumbly though I followed the directions acurately. I did not use the icing recipe but put a different icing on it but I was not impressed with the cake at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States