Barb's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
great recipe, added some chocolate pudding for more moistness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I made this cake for my daughter 9th bday and it was a great hit. A real old fashioned chocolate cake with great coco flavor. I used my favorite frosting recipe but changed nothing else. Next time, and there will be a next time, I would consider using mini chocolate chips or just chopping up block chocolate as the chips were a bit chunky and made the cake rise a bit unevenly. Take care not to over bake - I let it cook a few minutes over and next time will have it out a bit earlier. All around a winner. A great recipe to have - Thanks barb for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweets are me
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I have made this for two birthday celebrations now ans both times it has got rave reviews!! Very decadent and the chocolate chips in the cake make for little bits of extra chocolate in some bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
FABULOUS!!! I live up in the mountains of Montana, and I have a very difficult time with baking, but I followed other reviewers' suggestions and increased the oil to 1-1/3 cups, increased the coffee and cocoa to 1/3 cup of each, plus added a package of cook 'n serve Jello Vanilla pudding - this is by far the BEST chocolate cake I have ever made! Moist, tender, flavorful, rich, yummy - I made a lifelong friend by sending some to a very busy neighbor, too. I also used the Coffee Butter Frosting recipe from this site, as suggested - PERFECT! Wish I could give this recipe 10 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Pauline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was my first layered cake to make and it turned out perfect. It was very moist. I ended out taking it out earlier that what was on the directions but I think that is because every oven is different. I alway check anything early I am baking so it won't be too dry. I did make more icing by adding an extra half of the icing ingredients. I ended up having left overs but I should have put more between the layers. It is even better the next day put in the microwave for 10 seconds. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This was a really good cake - I used vinegar/milk for a substitute for the buttermilk with no problems. I chose to ice the cake instead of frosting because I thought it would be overpowering with a thick frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
It turned out great, I read somme other reviews and those helped out. The cake was very moist and yummy, I made it for a Birthday get-together for my husband and it was gone before it was over, one attendee had 3 pieces! Made it with chocolate buttercream icing and that gave it the perfect touch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I've used this cake recipe a couple times in the past, but made the following changes: 1 cup of sour cream instead of the buttermilk, 1/3 cup increased vegetable oil and one box of jello chocolate pudding (dry mix). The cake comes out extremely moist and not too sweet. I've never tried the frosting recipe with it as I use a peanut butter frosting on this cake. Makes a nice birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was delicious. I did not use the frosting because my daughter wanted a vanilla frosting. This was simple, and it will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I have been making this cake for 2 years now, the only change I made was adding 1 tsp cinnamin to the batter and 1 tsp cinnamin to the frosting- I also make 1 1/2 the frosting recipe provided. We all love this recipe! No more box chocolate cakes for us! It's even better the next day when the flavors blend more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierz, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States