Barb's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
absolutely the best chocolate cake. I followed the directions exactly as written and even my picky 5 yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I loved this recipe. The cake was moist and fluffy, just perfect! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Cake was just okay on it's own - really didn't drool over it as I have with others (pretty much any involving chocolate cake mix, sour cream and chocolate chips). I didn't use the icing recipe here (didn't have the coffee) and so I instead used the "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" on allrecipes, and now THAT was to die for (and easy :). But the kicker was pairing the glazed cake with Butter Pecan ice cream, and that's when the OMGs started (for some reason I think the butter pecan worked better than vanilla would have - maybe the slight nut crunch?). Probably won't do this cake again unless I have to have a chocolate cake and I don't have boxed cake mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I'm chewing this as I type so I can be as honest as possible. It's cake, just plain chocolate cake. Not dry but certainly not the moist cake I was hoping for. It's dark in color but it's not strongly chocolate. It's not very sweet and not very moist. Bakes up beautifully and it's not bad, just not something I would make again when I think I want a slice of chocolate cake. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
My search for a chocolate cake for my friend's Birthday brought me to All Recipes. I made my first cake last week and have since made two more this week alone (each of them have been pried from my hands before I could even admire my work) I have nothing but great things to say about this cake!! I don't bake often and this was the first cake I baked from scratch. It was no problem for me. I added the pudding and extra 1/3 cup of oil like some other users suggested and I also use cream cheese frosting instead of the chocolate glaze. I have been demanded to make this cake for a fundraiser coming up. Everyone just LOVES. This cake. now I just have to learn how to decorate it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This cake is great. I have made it on 3 different occasions and each time it turns out perfect and people eat it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Kay Lohrer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I have to admit that after reading some the other reviews I was a little leary because they are so conflicting. That said this was the best chocolate cake I have ever had. I think those who found it to be dry/crumbly either overbaked it or refrigerated it before eating. If you put it in the fridge 10 seconds in the mirowave make a slice wonderful again. My chocolate cake recipe search ends here, will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Perfect Birthday cake! In our family, we like it with whipped cream cream cheese frosting instead of chocolate glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JRTNCORGI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Am I the only one that could taste the baking soda/powder in this cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riely111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Not sure what I did wrong, but the cake fell apart and was crumbly. I added pudding, like some reviewers suggested; added more oil, as well. Once cooled, it just crumbled. I was so disappointed. It smelled wonderful and the batter tasted amazing!I bake quite a bit, so I'm baffled. Aside from the consistency, it did taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirjmiggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bushkill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States