Barbie's Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Fantastic! This is the best tuna salad I have ever tasted! The first time I made it I used chunk light tuna, and tonight I used albacore...it's great either way. I don't understand why some reviews state that there's too much mayo or dill. When draining the tuna, I use the lid of the can to squeeze it dry. Isn't that how everyone does it? It makes quite a stiff mixture this way. I also used the straight edge of a spatula to level off each measuring spoon and get an accurate measurement of each ingredient. My 7th grade home economics teacher was a stickler about this. I find this especially important when using the more potent herbs and spices such as in this recipe. Anyway...I simply ate this on a slice of sundried tomato bread from my local bakery. I was planning to toast it first but I couldn't wait! It was delicious! Once this is refrigerated overnight and served on bakery bread with romaine lettuce, swiss cheese and a slice of garden-ripened tomato it is a ten star recipe for certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
724 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekp333

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Just thought I'd share my twist to this wonderfully flavored salad!!! I used only 1 T. lite Miracle Whip just to give moisture and The Pampered Chef Dill seasoning mix for the dill and garlic. It was JUST the VERY low fat change I wanted so I could add more healthy tuna to my diet. Thanks soooo much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very nice change of pace from the traditional tuna sandwich. Served this at a "Mad Hatter's Tea Party" recently and they were perfect! Will definity serve again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I searched for a tuna salad recipe that was a little different from the norm. I doubled this recipe and found that the taste was just ok, but easily modified to be GREAT! First of all, I would cut down on the amount of relish and parsley and add a little more cheese. I used fresh onion since I don't keep minced dried onion in the house. It took about 2 Tbl of the onion to make it "show up" in the taste of this recipe. That's 2T total for this recipe DOUBLED. I know I will make this again, but with a few little tweaks that I mentioned. Also, don't be afraid of the curry. It is excellent in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelindaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I've prepared this a few times for several different people and everyone loves it. I do use less mayo in mine, fresh, finely diced onion (maybe 2 Tbsp., more than a pinch of garlic powder, half the parsley and I have taken to adding a bit of diced cucumber, as well. Customize to suit your own taste... the basic recipe is a winner. Highly recommended. Thanks, TANAQUIL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Barbie I have to hand it to ya - you've taken tuna salad to whole new level. This stuff is really, really good. I normally don't like sweet pickle relish in tuna salad, but for some reason it works here. I used 1/4 tsp. of dried minced onion flakes and was a bit liberal with the garlic powder. I also added a bit of salt and pepper. I have to say, this is probably one of the best tuna salads on this site. It was so good I whipped up a second batch and made a sandwich for my husband to take to work tomorrow. He's not a huge tuna salad fan, but I bet this will turn him into one. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This is my one of my favorite sandwiches. I can't eat the tuna plain anymore after this recipe. I ran out of dill weed so I just made it without it the other day and I liked it even better without it. I make this recipe regularly now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is a great unique take on traditional boring tuna salad. I LOVED the curry addition. As most have stated, I used quite a bit less mayo, 2 TBL, and replaced with Mircale Whip, as I like the flavor better. I also decreased the relish to 2TBL, as I wanted the tuna flavor to be more recognizable. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Thanks so much for this great recipe! The only change I made was to use less mayo (about 4T.) My husband and I love curry so this was a match made in heaven for us. I use the tuna in the pouch which I think is moister and has a better flavor. This is the tuna salad I'll make from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This is the ONLY tuna salad we make anymore! It's very flavorful and is now a weekly lunch at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States