Barbie's Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I wasn't real sure about the inclusion of pickle relish since I personally dislike it but the reviews were so positive I wanted to try it. I made a couple minor adjustments to a double batch. I cut the mayo by 1/3 and substituted 1/4 tsp of dill seed for the 2 tsp dill weed suggested for a double batch. I also mixed sweet relish at a 50/50 ratio with Hellish Relish from Roxtar Gourmet for a bit more interest. Thanks Tanaquil! This stuff was a real hit and went like everyone's favorite ice cream. I served it with warm crusty home made bread wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capntom52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Just made this and it is fantastic. The ingredients seemed a little strange and I didn't know what to expect, but when I tried it...yum! Will be my go to tuna salad recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I just made this recipe and just finished wolfing it down on pumpernickel bread. I can confirm that 6 tbps. of mayo is not too much. I used 2 6 ounce cans of tuna, which, when drained was 8 ounces, according to the cans. I made the recipe exactly as indicated, except for the extra ounce of tuna. It was a nice sandwich. I tasted the relish and the curry the most. It was a touch too sweet for me. For my taste, I would throw in some salt or bump up the onion flakes a bit or downplay the relish a bit. I also used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo. I'll try it with Mayo next time. It was a darned good sandwich. I can't say it was the best, but maybe with some tweaking it could be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
i loved this recipe. best tuna salad i ever had. followed the recipe to the T. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
FAN..TAS...TIC!! This was wonderful. The curry makes a ton of difference. I added chopped celery for crunch and since I had an onion that needed to be used, I substituted that for dried. This was wonderful on crunchy, freshly toasted French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Try it with chickpeas! Make a vegetarian version by draining and rinsing a can of chickpeas instead of tuna. Mash with a potato masher and follow the recipe as written or however you have adjusted it to your tastes. Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I just made this minus the dill weed because I didn't have it but this recipe is amazing !!! Totally making my tuna this way from now on ...????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Raffell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe and it ended up tasting ok on a baguette with lettuce and Swiss for a quick sandwich. I doubled the recipe so I had some left over that I just put into the fridge. When I tried it with some crackers two days later, wow! The flavors had time to really pop and tasted amazing, especially the curry! I recommend preparing and leaving it to sit in the fridge overnight before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. I did however make a few changes, instead of dried parsley I used fresh and I used finely chopped fresh garlic and onion in place of onion flakes and garlic powder. Added to the texture of the pickles this made the recipe a chunky and tasty tuna salad to remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I made this and it was delicious! Also, I didn't have any curry so I left it out, and it was great! Next time I will have to try it with the curry. Overall this is an excellent recipe and I will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor C Six

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States