Barbie's Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Wanted something different today for lunch. I used 2 5oz cans of tuna & prepared it according to directions. Added spices slowly, tasting as I went as I too was skeptical about the curry & the relish. Ended up using about, what the recipe called for. I'll definitely make this again. Great flavors. Thanks for sharing........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was delicious!! I was very surprised at how all of these flavors came together. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that likes tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrkyZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Great recipe, reason only 4 stars...........ADD EGGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
As it is written, this recipe could turn out awful for you. It's a good thing I put in about half as much of the spices, otherwise the curry taste would have been overwhelming, and the parsley would have turned the tuna fish green. I will agree with the cook that it was unique tasting. My husband said he would have preferred dill pickles, and it had an odd flavor and smell (the curry mostly), although he ate it. I think he didn't want to waste it. My daughter (20 yrs. old) and I liked it okay as something different, but I don't think I will make again. We love our tuna salad with fresh chopped onion, chopped dill pickles, and salad dressing--simple and always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMTRINA
Home Town: Ripley, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
So if you are here, then you were like me, in a desperate search to find the best ever tuna salad recipe! Well.... Tried this and it is NOT it! I finally found it, took 20 years, so I came back here to give you all my report and share the recipe. I do not have it posted, because I don't ever post recipes, but it is as follows: WORLDS BEST TUNA FISH SANDWICH! 2 cans (5 oz) drained solid white tuna fish, 2 cans (5 oz) drained light tuna fish, 1/3 cup of mayo (or more to taste), 1 heaping Tbsp. sweet relish, 1 heaping tsp. Dijon mustard, 2 Tbsp. Chopped celery (optional), 1 heaping Tbsp. minced onion ( optional), kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste. Blend well then evenly spread over four slices whole wheat bread, top with lettuce & tomato, if desired, then top each sandwich with another slice of bread. Enjoy! I have a RUNNER UP recipe that comes from a Whole Foods deli clerk! APPLE CRANBERRY TUNA SALAD! Chunk light tuna, mayo with canola oil, diced celery, diced apple, dried cranberries, chopped walnuts, diced red onions, lemon or orange juice, salt, pepper, parsley, garlic powder, dill. You figure out the ratio's.... it's not that hard! And YES, always drain your can of tuna!! I use Granny Smith apple but you can use a sweeter one. Taste great with the green though! If I ever use red then I sub the cranberries with green seedless grapes! I am only giving this awful recipe above five stars,, so that my feedback will go up top so you people can read it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Love this recipe.. take to party's and everyou one wants to know who brought it to the party.. what a hit..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Wow! Don't change a single thing! It's perfect! I thought (before making it) that I might want to add celery since that's how I've always made mine and thought I'd miss that crunch, but you don't need it. This is an awesome recipe and I'm so glad I found it - new "go-to!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I really like this recipe, but with a few adjustments. I hate sweet pickles, so I substituted for dill, and added a bit more than the recipe called for because I use two 8oz cans of tuna in water. I also finely chopped or minced fresh onion instead of the onion flakes, again adding a bit more, about 1-2 tablespoons. I add extra mayo as needed to compensate for the extra can of tuna. Very good on croissant rolls over a bed of fresh spinach. For party's I put on mini croissants that you can get at Walmart, and it is a big hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carissa DeAndrade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Full Disclosure: I gag at the thought of sweet pickle relish. I ate 1/2 tsp just to adjust ingredients. With that being said, the family loved it! Our regular tuna is savory but this was a big hit. I used half the mayo instead of miracle whip because I didn't want it to be too sweet, used half the dill, doubled the onion and added garlic to taste. I also added 1/2 tbsp of sweet pickle relish juice. I let it marry over night and they were wowed at lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Just made this for lunch. Yum! Will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States