Barbie Doll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
i will to see a pitchuers of the barbie doll cake by sherry johnson. thank you victoria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
My daughter wanted Barbie for her 5th birthday, the cake was the hit of the party. It was alot easier than anticipated! I used chocolate cake instead at the request of the quest of honor, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
Awesome and soo much easier than I thought it would be! I must have used a bowl that was not big enough becasue we had to take the extra batter and add it to 2 round cake pans in order for it to be tall enough to come up to Barbie's waste (actaully we used Ariel). I also went out and bought those tubes of icing that come with the different tops to add lace and bows to her dress. The cake was the hit of my 4 year old's party - and to think a local store charges 40$ fo rthis cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
An awesome idea and a huge hit at my daughter's 3rd birthday party. I used homemade cake and frosting. You need to use some common sense about the bowl shape & size and adjust the cooking time accordingly. (I even had the power go out for 10 min. while mine was baking). I used a cake topper Barbie to avoid problems with the legs. There are toppers and bowls specifically for this cake at most craft stores you can use as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2000
It was a life saver.....needed a cake fora requested Barbie theme party and this was it....so easy I wondered why I hadn't thought of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
I loved this concept! I ended up buying the Barbie Cake form and using that instead of the pyrex bowl so I didn't have any trouble with it being the right size. The cake I created got absolutely RAVE reviews, not only from my loyal grandchildren, but even from the grown-ups! What a hoot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This came out great....I made it for my niece's 3rd birthday....what a hit. I used the pampered chef mixing bowl that can be baked in....it was perfect. Then bought a doll from the dollar store and stuck her in the top! Use your imagination to decorate...any little girl will love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I have been making a version of this cake for many years, for my daughter and many of her close friends. My tips are - buy a super cheap doll for anly a dollar or two and remove the legs. Its good if you can get one dressed in a leotard or bathing suit because you con leave that on and pipe frosting highlights, say accross the shoulders ao around the neckline. Also, make a fairy be stitching angel craft wings to the back and gluing a wand (toothpick glued to a star shaped "jewel") into the hand. Or make a bride with a veil and a bouquet in the hand, decorating white frosted skirt with sparkling sugar sprinkles and silver cachou balls. Girls just love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I was just checking the most recent reviews in the community forum and stumbled on the Barbie Doll Cake. I remember my Mom making this for me when I was little and how my friends and I oohed and aaahed! I had completely locked up that memory until I saw this! I'm going to write a little note in my Mom's Mother's Day Card letting her know how special it was. My youngest daughter is now 13 so I guess it's too late for me for bake it, but I'm saving the recipe for my granddaughter if I'm that lucky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This turned out darling! I followed the recipe and my doll looked like she was sitting instead of standing. I bought a regular Barbie at Big Lots and just used masking tape to keep her legs bent at the knees. She cleaned up fine and with a liitle bending, got back into shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Millstadt, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Doll Cake

Create a festive doll cake for your favorite girl's special day.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States