Barbie Doll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This is such a fun cake. Pampered Chef's large batter bowl is the perfect size and is shaped more like a skirt than a regular bowl is. I think you might want to get the Barbie bodice cake topper (at Walmart or a bake shop); that will totally alleviate the leg issues. Also, if you cook it @ 200-250 degrees for 2hours, the cake will bake more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I made this as directed, and the cake IS NOT tall enough for Barbie's legs to be covered by her "gown". I had to make another 8" round to use as a base to make the cake tall enough to cover her legs. Should I have put Barbie's legs in at an angle? Shouldn't that be in the directions? Would it even fit then? The end product is darling, but this is a major point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
If my photo is approved, mine is the Cinderella Barbie cake. I made this for my dd's 2nd birthday, she loves Cinderella. I thought of revising this recipe because I made alot of changes but decided it best if I shared them here: I used 2 boxes of french vanilla cake mix and used 1 can diet Sprite per cake mix in place of all additional ingredients. I have a set of 3 (small, medium, large) pyrex bowls so I baked part of the batter in each bowl and created a 3 layer cake. I frosted the cakes with 2 jars of butter cream frosting tinted blue *WARNING* butter cream frosting is slightly yellow, which caused my skirt to be a bit green! Then I added blue sugar crystal sprinkles for the sparkle of Cinderella's dress. After inserting the doll, her pelvis was still slightly exsposed (1/2 - 1 inch) but I was able to cover it with frosting. I lucked out and found a generic Cinderella doll at the $1 store, so I put the generic dress on the nicer doll and wrapped her in plastic from the torso down. I stuck the candles to her hands with artists gum. After the cake was cut I changed Cinderella back into the dress she came with originally and handed her off to my eager princess. The guests were wowed! This is such a great idea, and in all honesty it was very easy, and Im an ammatuer cook. ;-) UPDATE: Another great idea is to use Kelly dolls and insert them into cupcakes. I'm doing that this year, and may post pics. You can see instructions on Barbie.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is a very fun cake that I have made several times. I agree with other reviewers that this recipe needs to be "tweaked". I use the large Pampered Chef batter bowl, using 1 and a 1/2 box mixes. Barbie's legs should be wrapped tightly with plastic wrap. I use a naked barbie and pipe frosting on the body to create her bodice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This is a great basic recipe with lots of easy variations, that little girls love! I once had an Ariel (Little Mermaid) cake with blue "water" frosting, and her "tail" piped in green frosting! It got rave reviews! I use the Pampered Chef large batter bowl, and bake two separate cakes (325 degrees, at 70 mins. each). Use a large knife to level the cakes. Cut off the top 2 inches of the second cake (freeze for later use). Stack the two cakes, with frosing in between. I wrap the dolls legs in plastic wrap before placing her in the cake...The doll is then part of the birthday gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I made this for my daughters 5th Birthday and it turned out GREAT!!!!!!!! I bought the top part of the doll in the cake decoratng section at Walmart for 1.99, and I bought a stainless steel mixing bowl that was tall also from Walmart. I made 2 boxes of the deluxe moist cake mix-white cake, and put it in the bowl(I put shortning in the bowl so the cake wouldn't stick). I placed the bowl inside a 9X13 baking pan and filled with boiling water(a water bath). I had to bake it for a while--about an hour and 20mins--but it was VERY MOIST!! I had some splitting while trying to frost, but I put it together with frosting. Everyone at the party thought I made it, and kept complamenting on how great & moist it tasted. Plus my daughter & her friends thought it looked soooo cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
An awesome idea and a huge hit at my daughter's 3rd birthday party. I used homemade cake and frosting. You need to use some common sense about the bowl shape & size and adjust the cooking time accordingly. (I even had the power go out for 10 min. while mine was baking). I used a cake topper Barbie to avoid problems with the legs. There are toppers and bowls specifically for this cake at most craft stores you can use as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
make sure the bowl is tall enough for the barbie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
My daughter wanted Barbie for her 5th birthday, the cake was the hit of the party. It was alot easier than anticipated! I used chocolate cake instead at the request of the quest of honor, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
i will to see a pitchuers of the barbie doll cake by sherry johnson. thank you victoria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Doll Cake

Create a festive doll cake for your favorite girl's special day.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States