Barbie Doll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2000
It was a life saver.....needed a cake fora requested Barbie theme party and this was it....so easy I wondered why I hadn't thought of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
My daughter wanted Barbie for her 5th birthday, the cake was the hit of the party. It was alot easier than anticipated! I used chocolate cake instead at the request of the quest of honor, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
i will to see a pitchuers of the barbie doll cake by sherry johnson. thank you victoria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I made this as directed, and the cake IS NOT tall enough for Barbie's legs to be covered by her "gown". I had to make another 8" round to use as a base to make the cake tall enough to cover her legs. Should I have put Barbie's legs in at an angle? Shouldn't that be in the directions? Would it even fit then? The end product is darling, but this is a major point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
make sure the bowl is tall enough for the barbie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I made this for my daughters 5th Birthday and it turned out GREAT!!!!!!!! I bought the top part of the doll in the cake decoratng section at Walmart for 1.99, and I bought a stainless steel mixing bowl that was tall also from Walmart. I made 2 boxes of the deluxe moist cake mix-white cake, and put it in the bowl(I put shortning in the bowl so the cake wouldn't stick). I placed the bowl inside a 9X13 baking pan and filled with boiling water(a water bath). I had to bake it for a while--about an hour and 20mins--but it was VERY MOIST!! I had some splitting while trying to frost, but I put it together with frosting. Everyone at the party thought I made it, and kept complamenting on how great & moist it tasted. Plus my daughter & her friends thought it looked soooo cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
I loved this concept! I ended up buying the Barbie Cake form and using that instead of the pyrex bowl so I didn't have any trouble with it being the right size. The cake I created got absolutely RAVE reviews, not only from my loyal grandchildren, but even from the grown-ups! What a hoot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
Awesome and soo much easier than I thought it would be! I must have used a bowl that was not big enough becasue we had to take the extra batter and add it to 2 round cake pans in order for it to be tall enough to come up to Barbie's waste (actaully we used Ariel). I also went out and bought those tubes of icing that come with the different tops to add lace and bows to her dress. The cake was the hit of my 4 year old's party - and to think a local store charges 40$ fo rthis cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This is such a fun cake. Pampered Chef's large batter bowl is the perfect size and is shaped more like a skirt than a regular bowl is. I think you might want to get the Barbie bodice cake topper (at Walmart or a bake shop); that will totally alleviate the leg issues. Also, if you cook it @ 200-250 degrees for 2hours, the cake will bake more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
An awesome idea and a huge hit at my daughter's 3rd birthday party. I used homemade cake and frosting. You need to use some common sense about the bowl shape & size and adjust the cooking time accordingly. (I even had the power go out for 10 min. while mine was baking). I used a cake topper Barbie to avoid problems with the legs. There are toppers and bowls specifically for this cake at most craft stores you can use as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Make a Doll Cake

Create a festive doll cake for your favorite girl's special day.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States