Barbie Doll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 24, 2004
Awesome and soo much easier than I thought it would be! I must have used a bowl that was not big enough becasue we had to take the extra batter and add it to 2 round cake pans in order for it to be tall enough to come up to Barbie's waste (actaully we used Ariel). I also went out and bought those tubes of icing that come with the different tops to add lace and bows to her dress. The cake was the hit of my 4 year old's party - and to think a local store charges 40$ fo rthis cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
I loved this concept! I ended up buying the Barbie Cake form and using that instead of the pyrex bowl so I didn't have any trouble with it being the right size. The cake I created got absolutely RAVE reviews, not only from my loyal grandchildren, but even from the grown-ups! What a hoot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I made this for my daughters 5th Birthday and it turned out GREAT!!!!!!!! I bought the top part of the doll in the cake decoratng section at Walmart for 1.99, and I bought a stainless steel mixing bowl that was tall also from Walmart. I made 2 boxes of the deluxe moist cake mix-white cake, and put it in the bowl(I put shortning in the bowl so the cake wouldn't stick). I placed the bowl inside a 9X13 baking pan and filled with boiling water(a water bath). I had to bake it for a while--about an hour and 20mins--but it was VERY MOIST!! I had some splitting while trying to frost, but I put it together with frosting. Everyone at the party thought I made it, and kept complamenting on how great & moist it tasted. Plus my daughter & her friends thought it looked soooo cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
make sure the bowl is tall enough for the barbie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I made this as directed, and the cake IS NOT tall enough for Barbie's legs to be covered by her "gown". I had to make another 8" round to use as a base to make the cake tall enough to cover her legs. Should I have put Barbie's legs in at an angle? Shouldn't that be in the directions? Would it even fit then? The end product is darling, but this is a major point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
i will to see a pitchuers of the barbie doll cake by sherry johnson. thank you victoria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
My daughter wanted Barbie for her 5th birthday, the cake was the hit of the party. It was alot easier than anticipated! I used chocolate cake instead at the request of the quest of honor, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2000
It was a life saver.....needed a cake fora requested Barbie theme party and this was it....so easy I wondered why I hadn't thought of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-88 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Doll Cake

Create a festive doll cake for your favorite girl's special day.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States