Barbie Doll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I just bought the Wilton cake mold. It is a lot easier and the dress will look like a real dress. The pyrex dish looks too bulky. Also, I bought a barbie inserter at a baker's supply store. It works better than trying to insert a actual barbie doll into the cake. The inserter is the top half off the barbie, so there is no need to break a barbie doll. The inserters only cost $2.00 and you can get any ethnicity. My daughter loves confetti cake with strawberry filling. Then I cover it in pink and white wilton fondant and place royal icing roses on it. I will post a pic soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Makes an adorable cake, but save yourself some grief either take Barbie's legs off or buy a cake topper. Made a double cake mix in a Kitchen Aid bowl, added a 9" layer underneath and Barbie STILL was too tall! Took her legs off, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was fun to make and my six year old loved it.... but this recipe needs tweaking. I used two box mixes instead of one (white cake) Also used two pryrex bowls, one smaller than the other. Stacked them on top of each other and iced. That way I didn't have to amputate poor barbie. The smaller mixing bowl took just over an hour to cook and the larger took almost an hour and a half. In the end though they tasted good and it looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I made this for my best friend's 5 year old daughter on her birthday. Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a-bean
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I have a little boy that just turned one. He is fascinated by my husband's red baseball cap, so I made this cake into a cap instead of a barbie cake. I used the Pampered Chef large batter bowl. I mixed up two store bought cake mixes and they fit in the bowl. One problem I almost had was that I mixed the cake in the bowl, but then had to dump it out wash and dry the bowl and then grease it. I also floured the bowl to make sure it didn't stick. I had to bake it for 80 minutes. After it cooled I cut a layer off the bottom to make the brim out of. It was a fairly goofy looking hat, but my son said it was a hat, so that was all that mattered to me. Also it wasn't as red as I had wanted it, but oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ana Vitoria
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
great recipe. I used my pampered chef large batter bowl and an 8 inch round cake pan with 2 boxes of cake mix and it was perfect. I did drop the temp a little and add time but I don't recall exactly the numbers so that it would cook through. I did have to bend Ariel's legs to get them in the cake at a good level but she fit just fine and my neice Emma was tickled pink when she saw it. I made a matching little ariel for my neice Sara as it was a shared birthday party and she just demolished it all. Both were thrilled that they had a doll to play with later. A fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana Vitoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda J.
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
It was a good idea suggesting to use a pyrex mixing bowl. That's exactly what I was looking for because I had no idea how to make the skirt shape. Unfortunately, the cake was too thick and didn't cook evenly. The outside got brown and crusty while the middle still wasn't cooked. I also had to use two 9 " round pans to make it tall enough. Next time I think I may look for a Barbie cake skirt mold instead of the glass bowl, but this worked ok in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Photo by mandy
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was adorable...My little girl loved that I put a barbie in her cake. I used 2 cake mixes and 2 cans of frosting. I used a 2.5 qt pyrex bowl as well as 2 8 inch round pans and still had to amputate poor barbie's legs. I would suggest maybe a 3rd round cake. I also made the mistake of frosting between each layer, so the cake shifted alot while I was frosting it. All in all, it was a really cute idea and next time I'll be better at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I made this recipe in a 2-qt Pyrex measuring cup. One box of cake mix was not enough (too short), and I had to make 2 additional 9" round cakes to make up for the height of the legs. (I guess I could have removed the legs as well.) After a little cake shaping and decorative frosting, I had a delightfully beautiful Barbie cake!! My 3-year old daughter loved it!! I'll post a picture of it -- if it is applied, ours is the pink and white strapless dress!! I only gave this 4 stars only because the recipe requires more than one box of cake, otherwise great!! Also, it took 2 1/2 jars of icing to decorate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
my grandmother used to make this cake for me when I was little and I want to give everyone a little advice- be careful with the placement of candles! For my 6th birthday, my grandmother put the candles too close to the center of the cake and barbie's hair caught on fire! it is almost impossible to tell a little girl that she can't have candles on her cake, so be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Make a Doll Cake

Create a festive doll cake for your favorite girl's special day.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States