Barbie Doll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
My daughter wanted an Ariel cake so I started doing a lot of reseach as I've heard all sorts of stories (horror) making a barbie cake. The best idea was saran wrapping the legs of the doll if you don't use a doll topper, and making a base for the barbie (1 or 2) 9" round cakes so that the barbie isn't too tall for the cake. I ended up using just 1 9" round for the base and Ariel was still a little too tall. I was able to pipe frosting around her waist so it wasn't a problem. I tried adding some crushed pineapples and juice to the cake mix as I normally bake my cakes this way, but it was a disaster. The taste was fantastic, but the cake was so heavy, it was splitting everywhere. So, I would follow the directions to the tee on the cake box. I did use 2 boxes. I agree with the others that the pampered chef bowl is the best. All of this work was so worth it all. I would make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I made the recipe described above but also make another batch in 2 round pans. I stacked it all up, used lots of icing and it was perfect. I didn't have any problem getting the Barbie in but it did cool overnight so that may have helped. I'm no master baker but this cake really allows room for error when icing. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Instructions for making a Barbie cake were in our local paper. The article suggested making the bowl, then a second cake mix was used to make 2-9" layers. Stacking these made the cake tall enough for the doll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
It came out OK, foolowed the directions with the 2 qt bowl and the skirt was not big enough for a real Barbie, so I had to use a fake 'cake-doll' with no legs. The cake was still a hit though. Next time I will use an actual doll cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susanne
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This cake is always a hit! Here is a Mermaidia version that I did for my daughter....*I used plastic aquarium plants for decoration and added some fairies to the sides!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
My Mom made this cake for me when I was little and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
My daughter now 11, and I were talking about how much fun her Barbie cakes were when she was little, so we decided to make a hula girl cake for a Luau party. It was great! I do suggest making an extra piece in a small sauce bowl if you are using a standard Barbie instead of a cake doll. It also works well to use an empty paper towel roll to cut out the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
this is the best recipe ever any girl that likes barbie doll's will love this color full and delight full cake but it could use a lot more work to make you're little girls day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is a very fun cake that I have made several times. I agree with other reviewers that this recipe needs to be "tweaked". I use the large Pampered Chef batter bowl, using 1 and a 1/2 box mixes. Barbie's legs should be wrapped tightly with plastic wrap. I use a naked barbie and pipe frosting on the body to create her bodice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Photo by LolitaGDL
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I gave it 5 starts to be an excellent idea for a little girl's birthday but I did not use the ingredients mentioned I use the recipe for the black chocolate cake from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolitaGDL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Make a Doll Cake

Create a festive doll cake for your favorite girl's special day.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States