Barbie Doll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Easy to make and best of all my daughter loved her cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBT71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I will try this again, armed with new cake decorating knowledge. I made it for my daughter's 3rd birthday and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Everyone seems to have the same complaint- legs are too long I used a little intuition and ripped Barbie's legs off before I stuck her in (a little cruel but made life a whole lot simpler. I'm not sure how generic dolls are put together, but as a destructive young child, I learned at an early age that all you have to do is twist and yank and Barbie's limbs will pop off. Just stick the torso into the cake and decorate from there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I learned to make this cake at a Wilton Class 30 years ago. To make the doll fit a bundt pan, cut a slit to the center of a paper plate and make a hole the size of her waist. Put the paper plate around her waist. (Plate facing down so it curves correctly) Place the doll in the cake and adjust the paper plate to fit. Use tape to hold. Icing the plate as you would if it were cake. When it comes time to cut the cake, you lift the doll out and she is wearing a shorter version of the dress. These make great birthday cakes and bridesmaids cakes as well. The 5 stars is for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by ~Natasha~
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
i did use three pans though. a 9 in for the bottom, a "mixing" size bowl for the middle and a little "cereal" size bowl or the very top. i wrapped barbies legs in plastic wrap and she just fit up to her hips. fun to make! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Natasha~

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Great idea for a young girl's birthday. I would suggest a larger bowl as the cake is too small. I used a 2qt bowl,additionally two 9" round cakes underneath which gave it height. Just be sure to level the cakes well. It was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mspriss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by Kelly Provost
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
thanks for all the ideas. the cake came out great except that it didnt cook through. the center of the cake was still raw. luckly most of the raw part fell out when i lifted the cake to move it to the tray. I baked it at 315 for just about 2 hours as recommended by another person. so im glad or it would have been really raw! but when i cut cake i didnt cut all the way through to avoidt he raw part and the cake was very moist! I used strawberry cake and angel food swirled!i cut out slices in back to insert wings and didnt feed those partts to anyone since it had sparkles on it and those are no edible! :-)thanks erveryone for all the insprirational decorating ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Provost
Photo by valerie1313
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Really neat cake. Just make sure to cut out the center of your cakes before sticking the doll inside. The doll did not go down all the way and I had to cover her waist with icing. Also the top cake split when I pushed her end. Just covered it up with icing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie1313

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Horton
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Even though I had a little trouble in the beginning, I am still rating this a 5 because of the finished product. Let's see...I started off making the cake in a small pyrex dish. After my cake cooled, I got ready to put barbie in and she towered above my cake. I could see all of her thighs. She was either way too tall, or my cake was too small. The next day, I tried again, using a medium pyrex dish. If I would of gone any bigger I would of had to use two boxes of cake mix. Barbie was still too tall for the cake, so it was unfortunate but Barbie had her legs amputated below the knee. Once that problem was solved, the rest was a breeze. Icing the cake was pretty easy. I used 1 1/2 cannisters of store bought icing. I dyed one of them pink and left other white. I used Phillsbury whipped white icing. This was a practice run for me. I will be making this for my fiances 3 yo daughters' birthday in a few weeks. I am very happy with the way my cake turned out. I will definitely be making this cake for many years to come. Thanks for the idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I have made this cake many times. It's perfect for girls of all ages. I use powdered sugar to dust my cake pans. It works as well as flour and tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Make a Doll Cake

Create a festive doll cake for your favorite girl's special day.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States