Barbie Doll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Josalynn
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I have made a few of these in my day. My most recent request was a snow white cake with the 7 dwarfs added. It turned out great. I purchased a barbie cake pan that was the perfect size for the dress. I used the "Cake Boss" recipe for her skirt which was delicious and nice a firm - no worries for concerning the dress would crumble and fall. I used a home made chocolate cake recipe for the 12" X 18" sheet cake. Made my own decorating icing and colored it to whatever was needed, green, yellow, etc. It was a HUGE hit - not a piece of it was left. Everyone came back for seconds. If you want to surprise a little girl with something as great as a barbie doll cake - I highly recommend this cute idea using her favorite barbie or prncess doll. We bought snow white and the 7 dwarfs in a package at Toys R Us and I wrapped the bottom half of the doll in saran wrap. Using the top of her dress and body as part of the cake. I even used some of the cardboard props that were part of the package the set came in. What a scene it was. Make sure you check it out. I believe it is picture #105. This recipe is okay to use if in a hurry. But to save money make your own ingredients and the great thing about decorating icing it keeps in the fridge for up to 2 weeks. Can use on cupcakes, etc. So I rated this a 3 because I like making cakes from scratch - not store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josalynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schellsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candace
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I bake two round cakes and then a pyrex bowl cake and stack them. This way the cake is tall enough for the barbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by omahataxidriver
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made it with 2 cake mixes, Made the first cake in a bowl, the second in 2 round cake pans. I even found a barbie with a purple swimsuit painted on! I bent her legs before stabbing her into the cake and she fit perfectly. Everyone Loved it! If I can do it, than anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omahataxidriver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KEELIE27
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I must have used the wrong bowl because even with the round cake on the bottom layer, my barbie was still too tall. And I will definitely use more of a decorator's frosting next time. I tried to make the dress shiny by using sort of a meringue-egg whites frosting but it was too sticky. My niece (and sister) absolutely loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEELIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
went over very well,used pampered chef bowl/pitcher no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
my sister loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhys
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
My daughter loved this! I made it for her 6th birthday. I did not have the wilton doll cake stand or the Pampered Chef Pan. I tried this once before with a bundt pan, but the Barbie was too tall and the hole in the middle of the bundt pan was too wide. I ended up using 2 pans - I borroed my neighbors Giant Cupcake Pan and made the cake from the top half/the frosting pan and placed that cake onto a 2nd cake made form a pie pan in order to give the cake more hight. It was the perfect size for the barbie! It also gave the dress a nice swirl from the cupcake pan! I wrapped the barbie's legs in plastic wrap and pushed her into the cake. I spread a thin layer of frosting on the cake and then made "marshmallow fondant" from this website to decorate the cake. I would recommend two things. Be careful with the barbies hair when decorating and if you use fondant, put it on the cake and then put the barbie in. I put the barbie in and then had to figure out how to get the fondant over the barbies head...it got a little messy, so I then took the barbie out, put on the fondant and then put the barbie in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I followed the recipe but I used a bundt cake pan and (2) 8 inch round cake. In order for doll to fit I ended up using a total of 2 round cakes. It was easy and turned out lovely. We used white frosting and buttercream ready made icing in a squirt can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brandy_m
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Mine took a lot longer to bake (used the PC bowl and had the oven at 350). But ended up turning out fine! My daughter LOVES her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandy_m

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Easy to make and best of all my daughter loved her cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBT71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Doll Cake

Create a festive doll cake for your favorite girl's special day.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States