Barbie Doll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Just a hint - I always take the legs off of the barbie before I stick it in the cake. There is no need to leave the legs on and sometimes it can cause the cake to split. This is a fun cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josalynn
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I have made a few of these in my day. My most recent request was a snow white cake with the 7 dwarfs added. It turned out great. I purchased a barbie cake pan that was the perfect size for the dress. I used the "Cake Boss" recipe for her skirt which was delicious and nice a firm - no worries for concerning the dress would crumble and fall. I used a home made chocolate cake recipe for the 12" X 18" sheet cake. Made my own decorating icing and colored it to whatever was needed, green, yellow, etc. It was a HUGE hit - not a piece of it was left. Everyone came back for seconds. If you want to surprise a little girl with something as great as a barbie doll cake - I highly recommend this cute idea using her favorite barbie or prncess doll. We bought snow white and the 7 dwarfs in a package at Toys R Us and I wrapped the bottom half of the doll in saran wrap. Using the top of her dress and body as part of the cake. I even used some of the cardboard props that were part of the package the set came in. What a scene it was. Make sure you check it out. I believe it is picture #105. This recipe is okay to use if in a hurry. But to save money make your own ingredients and the great thing about decorating icing it keeps in the fridge for up to 2 weeks. Can use on cupcakes, etc. So I rated this a 3 because I like making cakes from scratch - not store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josalynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schellsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candace
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I bake two round cakes and then a pyrex bowl cake and stack them. This way the cake is tall enough for the barbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by omahataxidriver
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made it with 2 cake mixes, Made the first cake in a bowl, the second in 2 round cake pans. I even found a barbie with a purple swimsuit painted on! I bent her legs before stabbing her into the cake and she fit perfectly. Everyone Loved it! If I can do it, than anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omahataxidriver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KEELIE27
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I must have used the wrong bowl because even with the round cake on the bottom layer, my barbie was still too tall. And I will definitely use more of a decorator's frosting next time. I tried to make the dress shiny by using sort of a meringue-egg whites frosting but it was too sticky. My niece (and sister) absolutely loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEELIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
went over very well,used pampered chef bowl/pitcher no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
my sister loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhys
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
My daughter loved this! I made it for her 6th birthday. I did not have the wilton doll cake stand or the Pampered Chef Pan. I tried this once before with a bundt pan, but the Barbie was too tall and the hole in the middle of the bundt pan was too wide. I ended up using 2 pans - I borroed my neighbors Giant Cupcake Pan and made the cake from the top half/the frosting pan and placed that cake onto a 2nd cake made form a pie pan in order to give the cake more hight. It was the perfect size for the barbie! It also gave the dress a nice swirl from the cupcake pan! I wrapped the barbie's legs in plastic wrap and pushed her into the cake. I spread a thin layer of frosting on the cake and then made "marshmallow fondant" from this website to decorate the cake. I would recommend two things. Be careful with the barbies hair when decorating and if you use fondant, put it on the cake and then put the barbie in. I put the barbie in and then had to figure out how to get the fondant over the barbies head...it got a little messy, so I then took the barbie out, put on the fondant and then put the barbie in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I followed the recipe but I used a bundt cake pan and (2) 8 inch round cake. In order for doll to fit I ended up using a total of 2 round cakes. It was easy and turned out lovely. We used white frosting and buttercream ready made icing in a squirt can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brandy_m
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Mine took a lot longer to bake (used the PC bowl and had the oven at 350). But ended up turning out fine! My daughter LOVES her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandy_m

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Make a Doll Cake

Create a festive doll cake for your favorite girl's special day.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States