Barbie Doll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This cake turned out so easy it was unbelieveable. I never baked in my glass mixing bowl and was so happy to see the results. Barbie was a hit for the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amajors
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I made it using the pampered chef small glass mixing bowl for the skirt. It had to be baked for a little longer. I made it with strawberry cake for the skirt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amajors

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
As many suggested to use the Pampered Chef Batter bowl, I did, since I had one. Definately needs two cake mixes. It did work, but I only used one cake mix and it was short. I got creative and bent the legs of the doll and used marshmallows to prop it up higher. I will use two cake mixes next time and adjust cooking times somehow. It looked beautiful when done and got great compliments. my daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Haner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DESNA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made a double recipe of my fav chocolate cake. Baked one recipe in Kitchenmade mixing bowl, heavily criscoed and floured. Took almost 2 hours to bake! The second recipe I divided into two 8" cake pans, and baked 55 minutes or so. Cut off the domes of each, stacked - fit perfectly! I bought a Wilton cake doll for about 3 bucks, but didn't like her head so temporarily replaced it with one of our other princess heads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Tip: but the cheaper Barbie and take her legs off- this allows her to fit on the cake better. Many of the reviews complain about the cake not being tall enough. save her legs and reassemble her afterwards and there is another doll for you little girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braymer, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Used 2 boxes of cake mix in a 2 qt bowl and 9" cake round. Baked the bowl for over an hour. If it seems it would cook thoroughly don't despair it does even those the top was a little over done but you trip that off anyway. Used about 2 1/2 cans of frosting and a doll pick I found at Michael's. The cake was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missz174
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
A 2 qt bowl is not big enough for the entire doll. I used a 4.5 qt bowl + a 10" layer on the bottom. The 4.5 qt bowl took 2 boxes of cake mix. I added 2 boxes of instant pudding mix into the batter. OMG, YUM! The cake bowl cooked 2 hours and was still uncooked in the middle. I took it out of the oven & bowl, left it on a cooling rack over night covered in tin foil and to my surprise, it was still warm in the morning and it finished cooking all the way through. When it was completely cooled, I sliced it in 3 layers so I could put pudding between them. When I decorated it, I crumb coated it first, let that harden, then decorated it. Worked perfect. This cake was the talk of the party. I have a picture of all the kids hovering around it trying to touch it. So Funny! This is a great cake for any little girl's party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was very helpful, I did use more than 1 cake mix, but it just depends on the bowl size. My daughter loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I wrapped the barbie in plastic wrap up to her waist before putting her in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I am giving this five stars for the fun idea. I made a sour cream pound cake, and then buttercream frosting for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma's Cookhouse

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Make a Doll Cake

Create a festive doll cake for your favorite girl's special day.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States