Barbie Doll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mother Ann
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
The things we do for love!! I wanted to make this cake for a dear 6 year old girl. The first round I tried to make a home-made strawberry cake from scratch that bombed. The second round turned out perfectly - but I discovered Barbie is WAY too tall to make this work. I had hubby cut her legs off just above the knees. She then fit in perfectly. I was a little disappointed that we had to ruin the Princess Ballerina Barbie but I guess I'll just keep her for future Princess Cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was perfect for my daughter's birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Just took it out of the oven and it sank like a rock in the middle. I've been baking cakes for years and never had this happen. I'm not the least bit happy right now. I didn't alter the recipe in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sabepa
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Made this for my daughter's third birthday with a Princess Aurora doll from the Disney store. I used the Pampered Chef large batter bowl based on recommendations from other users, and two boxes of cake mix. My cup did runneth over a bit in the oven so I would suggest sticking a baking pan beneath the bowl as it bakes. I think mine took a little over an hour and I did have to turn the heat down to 325 after the first 50 minutes because the outside was getting a bit crispy while the inside was still goo. It came out great though and my daughter loved it. My photo is the Sleeping Beauty with the pink and white gown and the flower arrangement in the back. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
So easy! Made for my lil girls 4th bday party & it was loved by everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Photo by Nhines
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I made a Princess cake using this recipe and loved it...and so did all the guests. I have never made one of these before so it's amazing it turned out as well as it did. Don't be intimadated by the looks of this. If I can do it, anyone can. My picture of the cake is # 183
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ecb722
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I used this recipe to make my daughter a Barbie Mermaid Tale cake. I used 2 boxes of cake mix; one in a 1.5 qt pyrex bowl for the top, and one in two round cake pans for the bottom. The height of the cake was up to Barbie's bottom, perfect for piping on a tail, but if you are doing a dress you might need to bend Barbie at the waist and put the legs in diagonally to get her in up to the waist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This turned out more beautiful than I could have ever dreamed of! I followed the advice to use 1 1/2 cake mixes in the batter bowl and lowered the temp to 325 and cooked for 70 minutes. I also placed aluminum foil over the top to keep it from turning brown and crispy. Worked like a charm! I then used a doll cake pic, as most people had mentioned amputating barbie's legs and I didn't want to deal with that. I made her a fancy top from ribbons and attached to her torso before putting her in the cake. It was much more simple than using frosting to decorate her torso. I love how she turned out! Couldn't be happier!! And what a happy 4th birthday my little girl had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BROZZY
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Excellent idea that my child has loved as a birthday cake for 2 years (so far). Baking as directed resulted in a raw middle. I baked my cakes at 325 for 70 minutes, as recommended in an earlier review. The cake comes out more dense than we are used to but remains moist. Removing the doll's legs and wrapping in plastic wrap makes decorating much easier. This will please any child or kid at heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This cake turned out so easy it was unbelieveable. I never baked in my glass mixing bowl and was so happy to see the results. Barbie was a hit for the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Doll Cake

Create a festive doll cake for your favorite girl's special day.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States