Barbequed Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Believe the hype-- these were fantastic! I don't have a grill so for the grill part, I just put them in the oven at 350 degrees, basting frequently. As recommended, I made double the sauce and didn't leave it over for dipping--- I just slathered the whole amount on there throughout basting! The first time, I didn't listen to others advice and only made the standard amount of sauce. Big mistake! Make double!The sauce was finger-licking good (I mean literally) and I was so pleased that I made my own sauce. No more store-bought-- this one's a keeper! As other people mentioned, I also added a bit of chili pepper flakes for some heat, and it was the perfect balance. Thanks for the recipe for these tender, delicious ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Wow, these ribs are definitely 5 star. Changed a couple of things on the 2nd round of making these to fit the family's preference. Instead of 1 tbsp of white sugar in the rub, I subbed 3/4 tbsp of white sugar and 3/4 tbsp of brown sugar. Added 1 tsp of liquid smoke to the sauce, used dried minced onions vs fresh diced onion and added 1/4 tsp of dried red pepper flakes to balance the sweet sauce. Perfect mixture of sweet and spicy. Took other reviewers advice and doubled the sauce and am so very glad I did! Thanks Gail for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2000
These ribs were excellent; quite tender and full of flavor. Although they require some pre-planning, they are extremely easy and so delicious. A tip: After roasting the ribs for 2-2 1/2 hours, the garlic slices will be soft; smash them and rub them on the ribs before sprinkling with the rub spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Ribs as good or better than most restaurants! I added 1/4 cup molasses, 1/2 t liquid smoke, and cut vinegar to 1/4c for a more full bodied, smokey taste to our ribs.I do all my ribs under the broiler. Brush slabs on top with sauce and turn and brush bottoms. I do this three times on each side for 5 mins. The sauce reduces down and seems to be soaked up by the ribs. Yummy! Thanks Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This is the ULTIMATE rib recipe. WE make it for all BBQ's and friends and family often comment on how these are the best ribs they have ever had. They rave on how tender they are too. Its a good fake out recipe for beginner grillers. I do have a few suggestions though. First, Beware the spice rub. I slathered it on the first time and it was WAY too much. I'm a little more careful with it now and i put some on the meaty side, and very little on the bone side. Second, Double the sauce recipe and put extra on the ribs and completely forgo the dipping sauce. These are tender enough you can eat them right off the bone without a hassle. The sauce isn't that yummy by itself, but the spice rub totally brings the flavor out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This is the best rib recipe EVER!!!! My family and friends will no longer order ribs when we go out to eat now!! They will only eat these!! I'm having a huge Mother's Day party and guess what was requested?? hmmmm RIBS!! I do not change one item on the recipe, it's perfect the way it is. My 13 year old niece (who weighs 70 pds) has been known to eat a whole rack of these ribs. THANK YOU GAIL for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I live in a close-knit neighborhood, always having community BBQ's, and this is our "fave" for babybacks!! Mouth-watering and falling off the bone. I don't care how much we make, ya better hurry, never any leftovers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This recipe is off the hook!!! I used this for a recent BBQ and got nothing but good reviews. Needless to say all the ribs went...next time I'll even buy an xtra slab just for me to enjoy after the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
These ribs are awesome. I used boneless pork ribs. I didn't have the exact ingredients, so I substituted minced garlic, light brown sugar and white distilled vinegar. I think next time I might cut down on the chili powder and the cumin in the rub, but that's just a personal preference. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. These ribs are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hamlet, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I have tried a lot of rib barbeque recipes, but this one has topped them all. Served to guests and they were a BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, slow-cooked pork ribs on your barbeque grill.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States