Barbequed Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
I've made ribs using this method a couple of times since finding the recipe. I've found that for really tender ribs they need to simmer more than an hour - our best yet were simmered for 2.5 hours at a very low simmer and then covered and put in the fridge to cool in the cooking water until we were ready to grill. Also, rather than salting the water I used Adolf's meat tenderizer. While the sauce which accompanies the recipe is good, I've found that we actually prefer our favorite bottled BBQ sauce. It's just as good and much easier. I grill the ribs until heated thorough and then brush on the sauce during the last few minutes to prevent the sauce from burning. These are great for making ahead and require so little effort that they are definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
These were fantastic. I only made 1 change. Instead of boiling the ribs I wrapped them in foil and baked them in 275 oven for 2 to 2-1/2 hours (until tender). These were the best ribs I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This was our first attempt at ribs and they turned out great. The recipe as written is a little confusing. I think steps 2 and 3 should be reversed. Step 2 says to cover the ribs with sauce when making the sauce is step 3. ??? A little weird. Anyhow, the ribs were delicious and tender and the sauce is pretty good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Excellent recipe! I do not own a blender, though. I used my food chopper to mince the onions and a whisk to mix the other ingredients. The sauce was just a tad lumpy from the onions, but completely delicious. My BBQ taste is sweet over tangy. I added about 4 tablespoons of brown sugar just before bringing the sauce to a boil. After the ribs marinated all day, I wrapped them lightly in foil and placed them on the grill until they were hot. I then removed the foil and placed the ribs directly on the grill (don't forget the Pam, especially if adding the sugar to the sauce. Very easy to lose this meat off of the bone!) to 'grill' each side. My VERY picky 11 year old son LOVED the ribs, and my husband said, "I don't think ANYTHING could make these ribs any better!" My favorite thing about the recipe itself, besides the results, is the fact that the ingredients are so basic. They are ingredients that most people already have in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
These are the best ribs I've had in years. Try using different vinegars such as balsamic or red wine vinegars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Excellent! Easy to prepare ahead of time. I used boneless pork ribs and they came out great. I wrapped them tightly in foil before putting them on the grill... so they steamed instead of cooked on the outside. Kept them moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Made these on the spur of the moment in the oven. My brother came over to visit and said they were, "the best ribs he ever had". What a surprise considering I didn't even have time to marinade the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Very good. Mine were nice and tender - the meat slid right off the bones. I put marinated them for about 3 hours in the sauce before cooking. Speaking of the sauce, I prefer mine a bit sweeter, so I added brown sugar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
very very good recipe. mad it with big country ribs and turned out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This recipe is the best I have ever had and made. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States