Barbequed Citrus Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I saw this recipe and I had to try it. The burgers were tangy and had a refreshing end of summer flavor, but something was missing. I think the next time I make then I'll reduce the fruit zest I use by 1/2 and perhaps add some jalapenos or cayenne pepper to give it a little zip. Some tiny bits of the orange may make them a little more juicy and sweet. Certainly a good start, but it needs some tweaking still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
My boyfriend and I LOVED this recipe. We changed it a bit, though, and made it more like sloppy joe's and used swiss cheese instead of pepperjack. Definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristolville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This recipe changed my angle on home made burgers I'd cut the total citrus amounts in half to keep that bold beef flavor. My wife is a citrus skeptic and was impressed. Try using different cheeses. Blue cheese and goat were surprisingly good fits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I'll tell you what, this lil kid has the knack. I was interested because how quick and simple it was, and dog gone it it was not a let down. Kids like simple and not so spicy foodso maybe it is not for the seasoned chef but great twist on the all-american burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thedailygourmet
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
When I first saw this recipe I was intrigued w/ the ingredients. I thought surely NO WAY would this even taste good, and WOW was I wrong. While there are many BBQ sauces, I chose Sweet Baby Ray's hickory brown sugar. I stayed on course w/ this burger and it's a fantastic burger! Way to go to the little miss who created it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and the burgers fell apart on my grill. Some sort of binder (like an egg) is needed to hold them together. Great flavor though and unusual for a burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
These were OK but we felt this had way tooooo much juice in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is awesome!! Bison makes a super yummy (and healthier) alternitive to beef. This is a great recipe as it is easy to adjust according to one's taste. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States