Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Knancy
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I followed the recommendations and used a smokey bbq sauce. Then I added some white button mushrooms and garlic to the saute. Very easy and tasty recipe. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knancy
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I have had a craving for barbeque something for a while, but I don't eat meat or fake meat products made out of soy so I didn't know what to make. This totally satisfied me! What a great recipe. I found this recipe a half hour ago and have already enjoyed a delicious sandwich. I like this because it is easy to cut down the recipe for just one person. I used hamburger buns instead of kaiser rolls. This makes four small sandwiches. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This was quick and simple- great idea for anyone looking for ways to eat tempeh. My steak eating husband ate two sandwiches last night and finished it up today for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I want to share an important note on preparing tempeh (which I used to *hate* because of the bitter taste but now I love!). Remove the tempeh from the package, cut it in half & put it into a small pot of simmering vegetable broth - bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer for 30 mins. (I use vegetarian/vegan bouillon cubes, about $2.50 or so for a package of 8 cubes (each cube makes 2 cups - delicious & cost effective for this purpose, soups, sauce base, whatever). Rapunzel is a great organic brand, but Knorr also makes a decent "mainstream" version. I made this recipe, using olive oil instead of vegetable - and added a clove of garlic to the sauteed veggies. I used the recommendation for a "smoky" barbecue sauce, and this sandwich rocked! I've also made it by pan-frying the crumbled tempeh to brown it (after it comes out of the broth), and adding a small splash of tamari to the pan right at the end, stirring to mix - then continuing with the rest of the recipe. Simple and yummy! Thanks for this easy recipe :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This is really good but I can see how this recipe could fail if you use bad ingredients. The sauce is what will make or break this one. I added garlic and a splash of hot sauce to mine. I used the organic 3 grain tempeh which I like better than straight soy. This is a good start for people who have never had tempeh before. All in all very good. I will be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was so good!!! I added a clove of garlic and put it in a pita pocket. Definitely fullfilled my BBQ craving and was very filling as well. I highly recommend this recipe!! yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
The best comment I can hear at dinner is "make this again!" My 9 year old son, who is skeptical about our new vegetarian lifestyle, really loved these and asked for seconds. I grew up in the South, so I added coleslaw as a side or to top the sandwich with and this was fantastic. Re: an earlier comment about boiling the tempeh prior: I researched this on other websites and it is not necessary. You can rinse with water and it was fine, no bitterness detected. I used a five grain tempeh and the texture was terrific. I'll be looking for a healthier barbeque sauce, most are loaded with high fructose corn syrup. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
perfect for a veggie student, very easy to just make for one and still good even without the veggies (for those really lazy days).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
this recipe was great. i used a half bbq/half teriyaki sauce. i'd make it for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brytness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I really liked this. It resembles a Sloppy Joe, and tastes like it, too. I loved the bell peppers; next time I'll chop them a little bigger so the flavor and texture are more pronounced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States