Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I want to share an important note on preparing tempeh (which I used to *hate* because of the bitter taste but now I love!). Remove the tempeh from the package, cut it in half & put it into a small pot of simmering vegetable broth - bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer for 30 mins. (I use vegetarian/vegan bouillon cubes, about $2.50 or so for a package of 8 cubes (each cube makes 2 cups - delicious & cost effective for this purpose, soups, sauce base, whatever). Rapunzel is a great organic brand, but Knorr also makes a decent "mainstream" version. I made this recipe, using olive oil instead of vegetable - and added a clove of garlic to the sauteed veggies. I used the recommendation for a "smoky" barbecue sauce, and this sandwich rocked! I've also made it by pan-frying the crumbled tempeh to brown it (after it comes out of the broth), and adding a small splash of tamari to the pan right at the end, stirring to mix - then continuing with the rest of the recipe. Simple and yummy! Thanks for this easy recipe :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This is really good but I can see how this recipe could fail if you use bad ingredients. The sauce is what will make or break this one. I added garlic and a splash of hot sauce to mine. I used the organic 3 grain tempeh which I like better than straight soy. This is a good start for people who have never had tempeh before. All in all very good. I will be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I have had a craving for barbeque something for a while, but I don't eat meat or fake meat products made out of soy so I didn't know what to make. This totally satisfied me! What a great recipe. I found this recipe a half hour ago and have already enjoyed a delicious sandwich. I like this because it is easy to cut down the recipe for just one person. I used hamburger buns instead of kaiser rolls. This makes four small sandwiches. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Well...I hate to be the sour grape in this bunch, but I just finished eating this for dinner and it was aweful. My husband took one bite and began to scream about the aweful aftertaste. He refused to eat this for dinner and went to get sushi. I didn't taste the aftertaste - for me it was the during taste. Now, there is a reason I gave this two stars instead of one. First, I think I chose a bad BBQ sauce. It is one of our absolute favorites, but was too sweet for this recipe. I highly reccommend going for a smokey sauce for this recipe. Second, we have never had tempeh before and frankly, won't ever again, but if you already know you like tempeh, this may work for you. I really wish I could offer more on how to repair this one, but it was that bad. There have been lots of vegan recipes that I have loved - try Vegan Casserole I, Black Bean Soup, or Vegan Split Pea soup (all from All Recipes and all fabulous).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
The best comment I can hear at dinner is "make this again!" My 9 year old son, who is skeptical about our new vegetarian lifestyle, really loved these and asked for seconds. I grew up in the South, so I added coleslaw as a side or to top the sandwich with and this was fantastic. Re: an earlier comment about boiling the tempeh prior: I researched this on other websites and it is not necessary. You can rinse with water and it was fine, no bitterness detected. I used a five grain tempeh and the texture was terrific. I'll be looking for a healthier barbeque sauce, most are loaded with high fructose corn syrup. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Do yourself a favor and make your own red or yellow barbeque sauce. Add an extra cup of water or vegetable broth (I use homemade pastes) and simmer in a slow cooker until the water evaporates. The vinegar does something to break down the firm and sometimes rubbery texture of the tempeh. This comes out much like a shredded/pulled pork barbeque sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I tried this recipe when my sister and her family were visiting - her oldest daughter is a vegetarian, and her husband is a meat-and-potatoes guy. The only thing I changed was adding a couple of cloves of minced garlic to the vegetables and used 2 green peppers instead of 1 green, 1 red... and EVERYONE, my brother-in-law included, ate this right up and wanted more! What a terrific, easy recipe and it turned out to be such a crowd pleaser! This is one of those good ol' standby recipes for me now, I make it as often as possible. It's pretty handy, too, for a single person because the sandwich filling keeps very well in the refrigerator and reheats very well too. Thanks for a terrific, quick, easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I love tempeh and my homemake bbq sauce, so this recipe was great! Only one other reviewer mentioned cooking the tempeh first- it is a must! Tempeh in an uncooked food and heating it up in bbq sauce is not sufficiently cooking it. It must be simmered first or it is hard to digest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKETMOMKD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Used wild rice tempeh and homemade BBQ sauce. Excellent. Used a very good Italian Roll for the bun. Note to those who don't like tempeh. Not all Tempeh is created equal. I don't like Soy Tempeh but love multi grain [3 grain, 7 grain, 12 grain] tempeh and Wild Rice Tempeh. However there are even more flavors available. Brands also differ. If you don't like one, you might like another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Very good sandwich, really more like a sloppy joe. All the sauce covers the taste of the tempeh somewhat so it's a good way to introduce this food to non-vegans. As noted, please cook tempeh first. I sauted and crumbled it first, then drained on paper towels while sautéing veggies (along with garlic). Will make again--I have all that barbecue sauce left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States