Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I have had a craving for barbeque something for a while, but I don't eat meat or fake meat products made out of soy so I didn't know what to make. This totally satisfied me! What a great recipe. I found this recipe a half hour ago and have already enjoyed a delicious sandwich. I like this because it is easy to cut down the recipe for just one person. I used hamburger buns instead of kaiser rolls. This makes four small sandwiches. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This was quick and simple- great idea for anyone looking for ways to eat tempeh. My steak eating husband ate two sandwiches last night and finished it up today for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Well...I hate to be the sour grape in this bunch, but I just finished eating this for dinner and it was aweful. My husband took one bite and began to scream about the aweful aftertaste. He refused to eat this for dinner and went to get sushi. I didn't taste the aftertaste - for me it was the during taste. Now, there is a reason I gave this two stars instead of one. First, I think I chose a bad BBQ sauce. It is one of our absolute favorites, but was too sweet for this recipe. I highly reccommend going for a smokey sauce for this recipe. Second, we have never had tempeh before and frankly, won't ever again, but if you already know you like tempeh, this may work for you. I really wish I could offer more on how to repair this one, but it was that bad. There have been lots of vegan recipes that I have loved - try Vegan Casserole I, Black Bean Soup, or Vegan Split Pea soup (all from All Recipes and all fabulous).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I want to share an important note on preparing tempeh (which I used to *hate* because of the bitter taste but now I love!). Remove the tempeh from the package, cut it in half & put it into a small pot of simmering vegetable broth - bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer for 30 mins. (I use vegetarian/vegan bouillon cubes, about $2.50 or so for a package of 8 cubes (each cube makes 2 cups - delicious & cost effective for this purpose, soups, sauce base, whatever). Rapunzel is a great organic brand, but Knorr also makes a decent "mainstream" version. I made this recipe, using olive oil instead of vegetable - and added a clove of garlic to the sauteed veggies. I used the recommendation for a "smoky" barbecue sauce, and this sandwich rocked! I've also made it by pan-frying the crumbled tempeh to brown it (after it comes out of the broth), and adding a small splash of tamari to the pan right at the end, stirring to mix - then continuing with the rest of the recipe. Simple and yummy! Thanks for this easy recipe :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This is really good but I can see how this recipe could fail if you use bad ingredients. The sauce is what will make or break this one. I added garlic and a splash of hot sauce to mine. I used the organic 3 grain tempeh which I like better than straight soy. This is a good start for people who have never had tempeh before. All in all very good. I will be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This is a great recipe to get on the table fast. I needed to add more water to thin it out while it was heating. Pick a good barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
These were decent, although I think they lacked something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Wonderful, easy, recipe and YUMMY to boot!! I love tempeh and this is so quick and easy to make. Its basically a Vegan Sloppy Joe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was so good!!! I added a clove of garlic and put it in a pita pocket. Definitely fullfilled my BBQ craving and was very filling as well. I highly recommend this recipe!! yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This was okay but wasn't much different than baked beans. As a time saver, I used frozen peppers that has a mix of colored peppers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States