Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I tried this recipe when my sister and her family were visiting - her oldest daughter is a vegetarian, and her husband is a meat-and-potatoes guy. The only thing I changed was adding a couple of cloves of minced garlic to the vegetables and used 2 green peppers instead of 1 green, 1 red... and EVERYONE, my brother-in-law included, ate this right up and wanted more! What a terrific, easy recipe and it turned out to be such a crowd pleaser! This is one of those good ol' standby recipes for me now, I make it as often as possible. It's pretty handy, too, for a single person because the sandwich filling keeps very well in the refrigerator and reheats very well too. Thanks for a terrific, quick, easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Do yourself a favor and make your own red or yellow barbeque sauce. Add an extra cup of water or vegetable broth (I use homemade pastes) and simmer in a slow cooker until the water evaporates. The vinegar does something to break down the firm and sometimes rubbery texture of the tempeh. This comes out much like a shredded/pulled pork barbeque sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was an awesome recipe! I am a college student always looking for fast and easy vegetarian dishes and this definitely ranks near the top of satisfying and simple. Tempeh is easy to keep around and extremely versatile for any of those think about trying it out. I just happened to have these ingredients (minus the rolls) so I just sliced the tempeh and peppers into strips. It actually takes away the whole sandwich part of the recipe but was equally as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Knancy
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I followed the recommendations and used a smokey bbq sauce. Then I added some white button mushrooms and garlic to the saute. Very easy and tasty recipe. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knancy
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My meat-eating husband and I (a vegetarian) both really like this sandwich. It's fast, easy, tastes good and has a nice texture. My only complaint is that it has too much pepper and onion (and I love peppers and onions). We used half of what the recipe calls for and will still reduce the amount when we make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was okay. It was my first recipe with tempeh, and I am thinking part of it was I am not crazy about it. The kids and my husband did like it, so it is worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Used wild rice tempeh and homemade BBQ sauce. Excellent. Used a very good Italian Roll for the bun. Note to those who don't like tempeh. Not all Tempeh is created equal. I don't like Soy Tempeh but love multi grain [3 grain, 7 grain, 12 grain] tempeh and Wild Rice Tempeh. However there are even more flavors available. Brands also differ. If you don't like one, you might like another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was my 2nd attempt at cooking with tempeh and I'm sure now that I do not like it. However, this recipe actually made it somewhat bearable to eat which is why I still gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
tempeh= not the best texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I really liked this. It resembles a Sloppy Joe, and tastes like it, too. I loved the bell peppers; next time I'll chop them a little bigger so the flavor and texture are more pronounced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States