Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
You MUST brown the tempeh by frying with olive oil before adding to the other ingredients. It is so much better that way. Otherwise, nicem quick hearty recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
YUM! I was looking for a "healthy" alternative to BBQ. Made some whole grain garlic bread and used yellow pepper, onion, adoboe, garlic, and carrots. Put the BBQ tempeh on top of hte toasted garlic bread and topped with cheese for an open faced bbq sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is so good! I used Irene's BBQ Sauce (which is a recipe on here, and awesome), and didn't change anything else except I added the sauce and tempeh before the peppers were tender and let the whole thing simmer for a while. Definitely enjoy this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezmars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLYVIVE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Delicious. My tweeks: I added a couple of cloves of garlic to the saute mix instead of onion. When I did add the bbq sauce, I added a dash of apple cider vinegar and cumin, cayenne pepper, garlic salt, minced onions, pepper, honey and paprika to taste- I think this upped the flavor quite a bit. Thanks for this idea...it's a very delicious recipe. Oh, and I microwaved the buns for 20 seconds to steam them rather than toasting- I like the texture better that way, plus it's quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is great! Even my meat-eating husband enjoyed it. Made just as instructed (with only green pepper) and believe it will be in regular rotation in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by testarossa11
Home Town: High Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Delicious! As a vegetarian with a non-vegetarian family, I am always looking for versatile recipes the whole family will eat, and this was a winner! I doubled the tempeh but reduced the veggies a bit for my pickier eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Yum! This is so good. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I had no idea how to prepare tempeh. This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This dish was delish! The only change I made was to add about 2 cloves of garlic to the onion/pepper saute mixture. My husband and I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
the 3 grain tempeh is definately tastier. I also like to marinate the tempeh (I cube it instead of crumble) in some soy sauce and garlic powder (add a bit of pepper, cayenne a splash of vinegar whatever your bbq sauce and or family needs/likes) before I go full force with the BBQ suace. This is a good vegan "but could add cheese" could feed to non adventurous type of sandwich serve with fries/ chips and a salad etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States