Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
~Added a little garlic and cumin to the peppers/onions. ~Substituted vegetable oil for coconut oil. ~Memphis smokey BBQ sauce. This recipe makes a LOT! But it works out because it's easy to reheat and eat again. It turned out really good, but adding a little extra spice definitely helped. This is a really good BBQ fix for vegetarians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
not really edible. this may have been due to me not soaking the tempeh at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
One of my all time FAVORITE all vegan meals. So cheap & easy to make! I make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyEverhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
You absolutely *have to boil tempeh before you do anything else to it. Simply boiling the tempeh in water for 5-10 minutes will remove the bitter taste. Boiling the tempeh in veggie broth for up to 30 minutes will remove the bitter taste and add more flavor to the tempeh. I would also recommend marinating tempeh for *at least* an hour, but truly, overnight is better. Two stars because the recipe would be okay if the tempeh is at least boiled beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Texture takes some getting used to if you are haven't tried tempeh, but the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
First time I ever tried tempeh. This was really good. If you did not know there was no meat you would think this was a sloppy joe sandwich. I used Sweet Baby Ray's Sweet and Spicy BBQ sauce. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I've tried something very similar and it was great. Will be trying this recipe soon. Just wanted to point out that saying "I hate tofu but love tempeh" is like saying "I hate apples but love honey" One has nothing to do with the other. Tofu is soy beans tempeh is rice and other grains. Also, tofu is great, IF prepared right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
delicious, my first time making something with tempeh! obviously choice of tempeh and barbecue sauce makes or breaks this recipe. i used trader joe's 3 grain tempeh and loved it. will experiment with different bbq sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I didn't have any peppers, and I've never had tempeh before, but this was delicious! I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
My friend John makes the BEST BBQ sauce I have ever tasted. I was never a big BBQ fan but I love his sauce. I recently went vegan so I was a little sad when I couldn't have any of John's brisket one day, but we brought home a jar of his sauce. I had some tempeh in the fridge but wasn't sure how to prepare it til I saw this recipe. Since I was new to tempeh, I didn't want to waste the sauce in case I didn't like it, so I only made enough for one sandwich. I used just a tiny bit of red and yellow peppers (what I had on hand) and opted not to use onion as I knew the sauce already had a kick to it. I think two entire peppers and an entire onion would be way too much for four sandwiches, unless you're just a big fan of them. I didn't have kaiser rolls so I just used some thin burger buns. I wasn't sure what to expect with the tempeh. It was good, but very crunchy. I heard somewhere to steam your tempeh first for about 10 minutes so I think I'll do that next time. But overall I thought this was really good. I really do think it has a lot to do with what sauce you use. Make sure you have one that you know you love already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States