Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Great idea that covers the flavor of tempeh (which I don't like, but my vegetarian boyfriend loves). I wouldn't add peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Delicious!!! Boiled tempeh for 8 minutes, marinated in BBQ sauce for 30 minutes, fried in pan for 5 minutes until hot, then mixed with already cooked vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is easy to make and really good. I'll be adding this to my lunch rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This recipe deserves 5 stars! It is wonderful as is, but I have tweaked it a bit to suit our tastes. I add kidney beans because they add additional body and texture. I have always liked them in Sloppy Joes, even back when I made them with (ugh) ground beef. I also do not use quite as much bbq sauce as called for. You will find that these are enjoyed by vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. A great meal any time, but especially awesome when you have a houseful of people with an assortment of eating styles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I'm a vegetarian, and I love the flavor of bbq food. This was a pretty good substitute for a bbq pulled pork sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Haven't made this yet, but read some reviews. I think a lot of the people who gave bad reviews didn't know to steam the tempeh for 20 mins. in a steamer or simmer for 20 mins in veg. broth before using in ANY recipe. It removes the bitter taste, after which, the tempeh will rock and so will the recipe! I can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Shoeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very tasty. We ate them like sloppy joes the first time and then as a dip with chips and a dallup of greek yogurt on top. It had great texture with added red kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I followed the "most helpful" review which was the first one stating to boil in broth and then lightly brown in the pan. The tempeh did not taste bad at all.. in fact, it didn't really have much of a taste at all. BBQ sauce was the only thing i could taste. Don't get wrong, i love BBQ sauce and pretty much any condiment known to man, but this was a little over the top. MIGHT make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Great vegetarian alternative to my meat-ful summer BBQ! As recommended in other reviews, I simmered the tempeh in stock for 30 minutes before beginning this recipe. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
My daughter made this as written and did not like it. I took the advice of another reviewer and slow cooked as he instructed and we both loved it. My husband also loved it. Next time I will steam it first as a few bites did have a slight bitter aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States