Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
It was pretty good (my first tempeh ever). I made my own BBQ sauce using tomato sauce, agave and spices. Instead of putting it on a bun, I used it as a topping for a baked sweet potato. Very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Amazing! I've been vegan for over 7 years and haven't had BBQ since, and this was like a major (cruelty-free, i might add) blast from the past! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Sorry, but this was pretty mediocre by our taste. Perhaps the kind of barbecue sauce that we use for meat dishes wasn't the right flavor to mix with the tempeh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Great base recipe but a must in preparing tempeh is steaming beforehand to take the bitterness away. What I do is grate the tempeh instead of cutting into small pieces. The smaller the tempeh the better it can soak in the marinade. After grating the tempeh, I steam for 30 minutes and then follow the recipe as is. Believe me – steaming tempeh beforehand will greatly improve the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was one of my first vegan cooking efforts and it turned out pretty great. I added two cloves of garlic & black beans, then seasoned with salt, pepper & a bit of paprika. Served on thin whole wheat buns with lettuce and avocado. Will make again for a quick weeknight recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Great idea that covers the flavor of tempeh (which I don't like, but my vegetarian boyfriend loves). I wouldn't add peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Delicious!!! Boiled tempeh for 8 minutes, marinated in BBQ sauce for 30 minutes, fried in pan for 5 minutes until hot, then mixed with already cooked vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is easy to make and really good. I'll be adding this to my lunch rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This recipe deserves 5 stars! It is wonderful as is, but I have tweaked it a bit to suit our tastes. I add kidney beans because they add additional body and texture. I have always liked them in Sloppy Joes, even back when I made them with (ugh) ground beef. I also do not use quite as much bbq sauce as called for. You will find that these are enjoyed by vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. A great meal any time, but especially awesome when you have a houseful of people with an assortment of eating styles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States