Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This completely satisfied the craving I've had for sloppy joes since we went vegetarian. I recently discovered tempeh and my husband had the idea to try it in a barbecue/sloppy joe fashion so I went to good ole Allrecipes and found this. I made my own bbq sauce due to a lack of any pre made in my cabinets (ketchup, sugar, worchestershire sauce, etc) and we loved it. I, too, put it with some mayo-based cole slaw and it was fantastic. So fantastic, in fact, that I was sad my husband got the leftovers for lunch the next day before I did. Oh well - better luck next time (and there will totally be a next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I loved it! I didn't change anything about it, it was good the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I liked this quite a lot. I wouldn't boil the tempeh or do anything other than the recipe called for, unless you have a strong aversion to tempeh. I didn't find any funny aftertaste and I served them to a meat lover, albeit adventurous eater, and he liked it a lot as well. Smells delicious while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This recipe was just okay for my family. I followed all the tips I found in the reviews. It was the first time we had tried tempeh, and we used the 3-grain type. Didn't care for the texture. Might try again with a different type of tempeh that doesn't have big seeds in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Fast, easy, relatively healthy, and pretty delicious! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this (and neither of us are vegetarian). They are kind of like vegetarian Sloppy Joes. We will be eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was awesome! I boiled the tempeh in vegetable broth for about 10 minutes and let it marinate in the bbq sauce overnight. I used Annie's organic bbq sauce, smoky maple flavor. I used about 2/3 of each pepper and about 1/2 of the onion. I'd never had tempeh before but I couldn't stop eating this and had it for lunch at work several times. As others have said, the sauce will probably make or break this recipe. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjlaramie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Think I was expecting something more along the lines of a sloppy joe, so was a tad disappointed. If I finely chop everything up next time, then we'll get there. This recipe makes alot. I ate it as sandwhiches and dip over a week. Stubb's BBQ sauce is good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
hey, tastes like bbq sauce, but crunchier! made it just like the recipe and it was good. Not sure about the comment of tempeh being bitter. I never had it before, so just tried it straight. Strangely enough, it just tasted like soy beans! brand was Westsoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudsaki
Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
It was pretty good (my first tempeh ever). I made my own BBQ sauce using tomato sauce, agave and spices. Instead of putting it on a bun, I used it as a topping for a baked sweet potato. Very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Amazing! I've been vegan for over 7 years and haven't had BBQ since, and this was like a major (cruelty-free, i might add) blast from the past! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States